Author Topic: which CAD/CAM software is better.  (Read 1845 times)

Offline DanialTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
    • robotics friends of shahrood university of tecnology
which CAD/CAM software is better.
« on: February 10, 2011, 06:29:36 AM »
I'm a robotics engineering student.to design mechanical parts I was working with Catia since I found Solidworks much easier to sketch.I heard Pro Engineering is also popular so I'm really confused to work with which of them. ???
would anyone help me choose the most useful CAD/CAM software and compare their features.

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: which CAD/CAM software is better.
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2011, 09:33:38 AM »
I find SolidWorks really powerful and easy to use, therefore I stick to it.

It does not really matter which software package You use as long as You can achieve what You want to achieve.
Both, SolidWorks and Pro Engineer, are widely recognised and used in industry; usually employer requires potential employee to know either of them, unless company is strictly using only one brand (be aware that there are quite a few companies who use AutoCAD or Inventor, etc). All in all, all these packages are similar in one way or another, if You are good with one it will not be a big problem to learn the other.

When I started all CAD stuff I've found SolidWorks very straightforward and intuitive, therefore I vote for SW.
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline BANE

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 09:58:32 AM »