Author Topic: Inputs for autonomous modification  (Read 2968 times)

Offline ShaWTiMeTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Inputs for autonomous modification
« on: November 12, 2008, 02:52:24 PM »
Hi, I am new to the forum and new to robotics and have some questions that I hope the community can assist with. I am a Senior Mechanical Engineer student and need some information for my design project. Our sponsor has given us a four wheeled robot to use. I am in search of some information on how to make the robot autonomous. The goal of the project is to have this robot attach to a remote controller helicopter. The mechanical design for attachment is already done. Currently the attachment would require human interface to control the robot to guide it in the attaching device. I am trying to see how feasible it would be to set the robot into an 'autopilot' mode so it will self align correctly with the attaching device. I have found some proximity sensors on a website and was wondering what else might be needed. Attachment will take place on two sides of the robot. Some guildelines and a generic part list will be greatly appreciated as to my robotic experience is very limited. Also any helpful sources would be great as to I am not sure where to find a lot of this information. Thanks for your time.
-Randy
« Last Edit: November 12, 2008, 02:53:19 PM by ShaWTiMe »

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Inputs for autonomous modification
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 03:47:51 AM »
Our sponsor has given us a four wheeled robot to use.
Got a link?

How big is the robot and helicopter? Inside or outside? What precision do you require? Any landing time limits? Does it have to land while the ground robot is moving? Whats your budget?

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 08:05:04 AM »