go away spammer

Author Topic: PIC16F877 Free C Compilers  (Read 24119 times)

Offline ParthTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
PIC16F877 Free C Compilers
« on: June 10, 2008, 09:55:00 PM »
Does anybody know any good decent, trustworthy C compilers that work for the PIC16F877 and are for free? I might also be willing to pay really low for a good one (under $30 about?).

I've googled for "PIC free c compiler" and "PIC 16 series free c compiler", but I only found compilers that were not very trustworthy or I was too afraid to download because they seemed too good (maybe they had a virus...).

So, if you guys know any that at least worked and would recommend to a beginner, I'd really appreciate if you posted. Thanks for your help, everybody!

EDIT: I'd like a C compiler because I don't know how to program in Assembly. Granted, I also don't know how to program in C, but there are many ways I know how to learn to. Also, I don't want to get overwhelmed while learning Assembly because I am a newbie and don't know much about programming.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 11:42:55 AM by Parth »

paulstreats

Re: PIC16F877 Free C Compilers
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2008, 04:16:20 AM »
I think the free edition at www.htsoft.com covers the 16f877 but it is limited in how much memory/ program lines you can use. It will get you started tho.......

Also the follwing site will help you start programming assembly on a PIC   http://www.mstracey.btinternet.co.uk/pictutorial/picmain.htm
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 04:20:25 AM by paulstreats »

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 11:03:34 AM »
Thanks, paulstreats. I can get the programmer, but I need trouble finding a cheap C compiler. Sure, there are demos, but what if those run out?

I have 2 other solutions to my problem: Does anybody know any Assembly tutorials that actually teach well (I googled but didn't find any good ones)? Or, does anybody have any source codes (in assembly) that they are willing to post? Thanks!