Author Topic: How to control liquid flow ?  (Read 4249 times)

Offline roborgTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
How to control liquid flow ?
« on: March 22, 2010, 07:00:49 PM »
Hi,

I am new to electronics and robotics and I have been going through various tutorials to understand basics. I am trying to build something that drains few drops of water (in general, any liquid) from a (small) container at specific pace and time. The pace of draining (ml/sec) and time are programmable parameters. I am having difficulty in figuring out how to do the mechanical and electronics part of this. I am thinking of this like a syringe which is "somehow" interfaced with a motor which in turn is controlled by micro controller.

micro controller---- stepper motor ---- container

Essentially every now and then (whenever timer fires) micro-controller turns the stepper motor a bit at required pace (based on ml/sec leakage required) which in turn applies pressure on the syringe/container that leaks the liquid.

My questions are:

1) As the movement required is small, I am wondering what kind of motor is desirable here ? Is stepper motor the right one for this ? If not, what else can I use. Also, there seems to be few types of stepper motors out there.

2) what type of micro-controller can be used here ?

I am looking for something with a very small form-factor here as I am dealing with milli-litres.

3) Regarding the container, I need this to close every time once required amount of liquid is pushed out (so that there is no seepage). Any suggestions on how to build or where to get such a thing ?

4) How exactly can I interface this container with the motor ? For pro-typing, I can use a syringe but it is not clear how to connect the motor to it.

5) What other electronic components would I need to get this started ?

Thanks in advance,
RO

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: How to control liquid flow ?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 11:12:58 PM »
Hi,