go away spammer

Author Topic: Between 8085, 8051, AVR, PIC and Motorola  (Read 18285 times)

Offline MrZappyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Between 8085, 8051, AVR, PIC and Motorola
« on: May 13, 2010, 12:44:53 AM »
Hi all, I am a 1st year University Student pursuing a degree in electronics engineering. I am very interested to learn about embedded systems as it is in my syllabus however I find myself being stuck and confused. I hope I can learn most of it before the next semester starts.

1. The main question I have is the difference between 8051, AVR, PIC and Motorola's 68HC11. What is AVR by the way? I know it is manufactured by Atmel but that's all I know. Only the 8051 and 8085 is within my syllabus. Therefore I am more interested to learn up these two types.

2. Is it possible to purchase the necessary components to assemble your own 8051 board at home? I plan to invest a little cash to play with the board at home. Do they come in DIP? Because SMD insn't an option as I don't have the necessary skills to solder it on.

3. Can the 8051 drive motors like the PIC and AVR? Basically, can it do what the other chips can do? What about 8085 then?

4. The language to learn. I understand some language are chip specific. So, how do I go about learning them. I read through the sticky at the start of this forum regarding 8051. It mentions learning up C and using Proteus for simulation. Is this the standard way?

5. Is there any noticeable difference between Intel's 8051 and Atmel's 8051? I understand the technology came from Intel first but what I want to know is whether they are interchangeable. Because I think Intel's 8051 only comes in SMD form whereas Atmel's 8051 comes in DIP. I want to get something that I can experiment at home.