Author Topic: I'm new to robotics/electronics. I'd like to make a RC robot  (Read 2049 times)

Offline JDPD96Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hi
I'm 15 and new to robotics/electronics and i want to build a RC robot
i want it to be 4 wheel drive and before i go out spending all of my money on parts i was hoping that someone here could help me with this little project.
I've been looking around on forums for a few weeks now and i can't find anything to help me with this.
What i want to do is make it with 4 motors, but i cant afford to buy 4 ESCs to use the motors i was hoping that there is a way to only use 2 ESCs
I heard that you can have 2 motors to 1 ESC and when you push forward on the transmitter both the motors go forward but i'm not sure how to do that.
If this helps, the things that i have are a 6 channel transmitter and receiver, a 6V battery cradle with 4x 1.5V AA batteries in it and if i end up understanding all of the electronics for this robot i'm going to buy 4x 6V DC motors and 2 ESCs (if i can use only 2 ESCs) and if i have to, battery packs for the ESCs ( i think they use their own battery).
Another thing i was wondering about is that the ESCs that i've been looking at have a continous current and a burst current, the one i've got my eye on has 30A continuous current and a 40A burst current i struggle to understand what that means, i think it is the amount of amps that go through it that the motor draws or needs to work but im not too sure
Thanks for reading and i hope someone can help

Offline Neogs Red

• Helpful? 0
Re: I'm new to robotics/electronics. I'd like to make a RC robot
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 11:18:21 PM »