go away spammer

Author Topic: how's penn's grasp program? do i deserve it?  (Read 1635 times)

Offline stchengTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
how's penn's grasp program? do i deserve it?
« on: August 12, 2013, 01:50:00 PM »
hi all,

I'm new to here, and i am interested in this robotics field. I'm now a first year master student at Penn concentrating on computer networks and now I'm considering if it is worth gaining a second master degree on robotics.

i know that Penn's robotics is outstanding (is it right?) and the reason i do this is because I'm willing to apply for a PhD degree in the future but if i apply it now it might be hard for me to apply for a better school, and i am interested in robotics field ( I've done some research during undergrad about modeling pursue/evasion with some robo-cars) and i believe learning new staffs' kinda fun.

i just wonder if my current field - computer networks / telecommunication is a little far from robotics? will my previous study kind of 'waste'? could i concentrate more on software side of robotics field? ( Penn's grasp is under its CIS department) does anyone know something about this program? I'm just a little confusing.

thanks so much!

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: how's penn's grasp program? do i deserve it?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2013, 02:42:25 PM »
Studying is never "useless" :-) Generally, though, there are all kinds of interesting computer science challenges in robotics, ranging from logistics/optimization all the way to heavy DSP/sensing and beyond to AI applications.