Author Topic: new here... howdy. Also, multi-stage belt drives?  (Read 3353 times)

Offline createthisTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
new here... howdy. Also, multi-stage belt drives?
« on: August 26, 2015, 11:47:14 AM »
Howdy,

I'm new here. I'm a software engineer by trade. I've dabbled in basic electronics theory. I've got a small woodworking shop because I'm interested in material properties (it just kinda grew out of the need to know more about wood). I've got a crappy 3d printer for prototyping, and a website I made because it seemed like something cool to do: http://www.createthis.com

I aspire to get more metalworking tools in the near future, like a cnc mill, or maybe just a regular mill. I currently have a big floor mounted drill press and a TIG welder, neither of which I'm particularly good with.

A couple of years ago, I was pretty interested in servos, and wanted a larger format "smart" servo, so I made this: http://www.diyservo.com

I learned I don't want backlash in my servo, and therefore I couldn't use planetary gears, so I abandoned the project.

I've since picked up an interest in quad copters, which led to brushless motors, which led to me picking up a boosted board ( if you don't know what that is: https://youtu.be/tyNJYbwBWnQ ), which led to me ordering a bunch of parts for a custom e-skateboard drivetrain to use as a large format actuator.

I just finished my torque calculation this morning. Apparently my actuator will make about 292 oz-in torque: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2486645

But I really want about 9600 oz-in. (50 ft-lbs), so I'm going to need a 1:32 reduction ratio. I really want to use a harmonic drive gearbox, but I can't find them for sale anywhere other than ebay, and I can't really find what I want on ebay, so I'm investigating alternatives. ( Finding someone willing to sell me various harmonic drive gearboxes might solve my whole problem, I don't know )