go away spammer

Author Topic: help for interactive LED display  (Read 3265 times)

Offline mr robotoTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
    • http://legomindstormmania.com/
help for interactive LED display
« on: January 30, 2011, 07:14:39 PM »
hi I am somewhat new to robotics and I need some help. does anybody know how to make an interactive LED display? I have an idea for a flat array of LED lights that responds to changes in light like your hand passing over the array. I know that I will need some sensors but I am not sure what sort of micro chip I will need. I would like if the lights changed in a patern but random is okay.

Thank you anybody who would want to help.

I once though that my brain was the most wonderful part of my body. then i realized who was telling me this

"A question that sometimes drives me hazy, am i or are the others crazy"?
 Albert Einstein

Offline Fr0stAngel

• Helpful? 3
  • [O_O] what??
Re: help for interactive LED display
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2011, 01:20:30 AM »
hi,
You can use LDR(light dependent resistors) or photo-transistors to detect the change in light( i.e a cup placed on the table) and then use any 8 bit micro controller to to decide the patterns and the locations of LEDs to be turned ON or blink etc.
'crazy' is the new hype! =)

Offline want2learn

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 4
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2011, 01:29:14 AM »
Do a google search on charlieplexing, you should get most of the information you need that way.

Jim
The question that drives me hazy:

Am I, or the others crazy?

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2011, 11:55:02 AM »
Hi,

Do a google search on charlieplexing, you should get most of the information you need that way.
"charlie-plexing" is only good for having a few LED's lit a time, not for large arrays.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...