Author Topic: Bowden Cables  (Read 5135 times)

Offline greywanderer012345Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Bowden Cables
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:24:37 PM »
I think I have some really good ideas for using bowden cables in robotics, but I'm still very new to mechanical engineering concepts, and I'm wondering if I'm missing something about their use. I don't see them used or posted about at all on robotics forums even though they could be used for many things. Why don't I see them being used? I'm sure I'm not the first person to consider it. Especially for robot arms with appendage control, they could be used to keep the weight and size of the motors at the base. It would work similar to those robot arm toys, only with servos pulling the cords that curl the fingers... Does anyone know why they are not used more often?

Offline Graynomad

• Helpful? 7
    • Skype - grayn0mad
Re: Bowden Cables
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 11:53:43 AM »
They can build up a lot of resistance and get hard to pull/push, maybe that's why.

______
Rob
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 11:54:58 AM by Graynomad »
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 01:01:07 PM »
Hi,

Why don't I see them being used? I'm sure I'm not the first person to consider it.
You are not, but perhaps not as much as Bowden cable (i.e. a more or less specified combination of inner and outer cable), but rather other variants over the theme.

Apart from friction, there's the added weight of Bowden (especially the standard type sold cheaply for bicycle brakes/gears), so usually a plain wire (i.e. no outer cable/sheat) is used, with pulleys where it corners.
Thinner Bowden type cable can be found industrially and would be more suitable, but it is hard to come by for hobbyists.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...