Author Topic: Hardware for programming a PIC  (Read 1040 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wheelyneilTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 1
  • FOR GET ABOUT IT
Hardware for programming a PIC
« on: February 11, 2010, 07:35:04 PM »
Hello Forum
I am a newbie and am trying to get started learning the hardware side of programming PIC's

I have a project that requires a PIC12F629 and would hope someone could direct me as to the proper hardware tools. "eg. pickit2, clones, cables or kit?" Like to stay around 50 to 100 Dollars USD. ?
 Guess what I am asking is what setup get me the most bang for my bucks

I have the firmware for the chip but have to get it inside :P  I just want to make sure I am getting everything I need to do this.

Thank you for your  help!
Neil
« Last Edit: February 11, 2010, 10:46:36 PM by wheelyneil »
Take care
Neil

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,930
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2010, 08:48:42 AM »
The PICKit2 is the best working programmer and debugger (on many PICs but not all) and the best price.
Buy it directly from Microchip:
http://www.microchipdirect.com/productsearch.aspx?Keywords=PG164120

All of the manuals, data sheets, utilities and information is down-loadable from Microchip's web site.
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en023805

Offline wheelyneilTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 1
  • FOR GET ABOUT IT
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2010, 09:55:30 AM »
Thanks for the info :P

I just ordered from microchip direct the pickit2 should be here ina couple days.

Thanks for the help! ;D
Take care
Neil

Offline wheelyneilTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 1
  • FOR GET ABOUT IT
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2010, 12:54:11 PM »
Hello Forum

OKAY here is the deal

I ordered the pickit 2 programmer and when I look at it I dont see how I will be able to hook up to the PIC12F629-E/P chip.

Am I missing something? Do I need to order something else?

I know these questions must seem silly, but all of this is new to me and I am just trying to jump through the first hoop!

This is the chip
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Microc...6NYwZP2GA%3d%3d

and this is the programmer
http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSear...ywords=PG164120

Thanks very much for your info!

Neil

« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 01:06:13 PM by wheelyneil »
Take care
Neil

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2010, 01:05:57 PM »
You will have to get some kind of breakout board or PCB, you plug the programmer into the pcb that the chip is on (in system programming).

Offline wheelyneilTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 1
  • FOR GET ABOUT IT
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2010, 02:06:32 PM »
Okay so I do need more. Thanks ;)

One question, if I used project board  like the one below in the picture with  a 90degree 6 pin header  to the picket2 and correct wiring and voltage to the Chip, be able to transfer firmware to the chip that way?

It just seems that with only 6 lines coming from the picket that there cant be that much wiring envoled?

Like I said I am new and just learning, I hope that what I just asked wasn't stupid :P
Take care
Neil

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,930
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2010, 02:09:14 PM »
Yes, that will work fine.

Offline wheelyneilTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 1
  • FOR GET ABOUT IT
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2010, 02:37:09 PM »
Thanks Again Waltr and Razor Concepts  wanted to hit you both at once ;)

Thats great! I didnt have any know how about the software side of things, but I have done some electronics wiring. So I will pull some datasheets and see if I can get it done. 

I know this is the software area and I am sorry if I posted to the wrong section.

Thanks again for the  help.
Take care
Neil

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,930
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Hardware for programming a PIC
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2010, 02:48:36 PM »
You're welcome.
Hardware/software gets kinda mixed together when working with microcontrollers. The hardware must be right for the software to work.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list