Author Topic: chasis for a camera robot  (Read 1086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
chasis for a camera robot
« on: February 20, 2010, 04:39:09 AM »
i want to make inspection robot with one camera only .so i want to buy chasis for that because i do'nt know any good fabricator.Please share any link of website which can make custom chassis also the size should be less than 10"X7".i think tank type chassis will be better if i get .
thanks in advance.

Offline little-c

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Helpful? 1
Re: chasis for a camera robot
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 05:11:22 AM »
buy an rc tank. comes with motors and a turret. can then be hacked apart to do whatever you want.

Offline karmaxTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Helpful? 0
Re: chasis for a camera robot
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 11:13:36 AM »
buy an rc tank. comes with motors and a turret. can then be hacked apart to do whatever you want.

thanks for reply .please give me some link from where i can buy tank type robot .i want to buy this type of chasishttp://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=920.but its very costly .so give me some cheaper option .my budget is $2000

Offline RobotBits

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
Re: chasis for a camera robot
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 03:21:43 PM »
One option that is a little smaller (7 x 5.5 inch) but a LOT cheaper can be seen at the link below:

http://www.robotbits.co.uk/chassis/tracked-chassis-grey-/prod_43.html

This motors in this chassis have quite a lot of torque and can handle inclines with ease. What sort of weight are expecting to carry?

This is quite a robust chassis but if you are using it as the basis of a commercial inspection robot, I would not drop the included battery box and upgrade to Li-Po or Li-ion.
RobotBits - Robot kits and components for fun and learning!
http://www.RobotBits.co.uk

Offline little-c

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Helpful? 1
Re: chasis for a camera robot
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2010, 05:12:30 PM »
reading that post just cost me a 50. ah well, my robot now has more powerful motors. and I have the last sensor needed for my new object detection algorithm.

if you want to go slightly bigger, and are willing to hack apart a rc tank,

http://www.surplusandoutdoors.com/shop/survival-accessories/true-survival-gadgets/remote-control-leopard-a5-battle-522697.html

most of the controlers would be scrap. Id strip the turret off, cut out the turret ring, and mount the camera on the turret ring. or you can modify the turret to use the existing mounts to move the camera up and down/left to right.
 maybe a respray if camo isn't going to go down well.

motors might want replacing. but 30($50) for those. doesn't wiegh much so doesn't need much power. stick a microcontroler on it, and wireless. give it a lithium ion battery and let it lose. most of its plastic, so it wont corrode. the thing si cheep and flexable, so it can take been thrown around a bit. needs minimal care and can be fixed with plastic glue for minor stuff.

 


Get Your Ad Here