Author Topic: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER  (Read 57459 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kirit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #30 on: December 01, 2008, 02:07:35 AM »
When you look at both ends of the ribbon cable, is the hump on the outside on both ends?
No, the one in the programmer is in the inside.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #31 on: December 01, 2008, 05:17:53 PM »
Then youre ok. In the diagram, the Top Left picture is showing the top view of the bump-inside side of the ISP Ribbon cable. The Top Right picture is showing how it correlates with the headers that it will be plugging into on the board (in this case, the headers it will be plugging into are the ones inside the programmer). The bottom right picture is showing where pin 1 would be on the other end of the ribbon.

So heres how it looks from the Top:
 |1 2|=RED==RED==RED= |1 2|
[|3 4|============   [|3 4|
 |5 6|=============  |5 6|

From the Bottom:
 |5 6|============= |5 6|
[|3 4|============  [|3 4|
 |1 2|=RED==RED==RED=|1 2|

See what I mean?

« Last Edit: December 01, 2008, 05:18:53 PM by HDL_CinC_Dragon »
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #32 on: December 01, 2008, 07:49:47 PM »
Trying to keep things simple.....yes, the cable looks like it is the wrong way around but then so is the connector. So in this situation 'two wrongs make a right' and cancel each other out. At the end of the day you can only attach the connector in two ways. One way wont work and the other will - and the wrong way wont cause anything to 'blow'. Since the AVRISP MKII has status LEDs then you can very easily discover which is the right way.

Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline kirit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #33 on: December 02, 2008, 04:20:25 PM »
Wow, you guys are great! I was basically pulling my hair out on this end. I need to solve another problem before i can hook things together, but thanks for this info. :)

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #34 on: December 02, 2008, 09:21:26 PM »
Thats what we're here for :)
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Ro-Bot28

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #35 on: January 05, 2009, 11:46:01 PM »
the way the circut is built in the tutorial. .could someone send a link to a place i could buy the programmer?

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #36 on: January 06, 2009, 11:09:43 AM »
the way the circut is built in the tutorial. .could someone send a link to a place i could buy the programmer?


If you're referring to the $50 robot tutorial, that board is built using a 2x5 header, the part number for that serial programmer is listed in the optional parts list. If you solder on the 2x3 header, than you would get the more expensive AVRISPMK2 USB programmer.

Offline Billi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #37 on: February 03, 2009, 04:15:45 PM »
Hi, I'm new and trying to build the $50 robot. I'm now stucked because AVR Studio is unable to connect to my micro-controller for some reason even when my AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER is showing green light...

Can anyone shed some light what might be wrong?

Thanks!

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #38 on: February 03, 2009, 05:32:30 PM »
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Billi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #39 on: February 03, 2009, 07:16:56 PM »
Thanks for that! I couldn't get past the 'Select AVR MKII Programmer and select USB. ' part!

I also tried the Manual Firmware Upgrade shown in the AVR tools user's guide under Help... and AVR Studio would give me this error: 'No AVRISP mkII in boot mode found...'

Does this mean something is wrong with my programmer perhaps?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #40 on: February 03, 2009, 07:54:48 PM »
Thanks for that! I couldn't get past the 'Select AVR MKII Programmer and select USB. ' part!
Did you install drivers correctly?

Did you follow Admin's $50 Robot tutorial on what software to install?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Billi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #41 on: February 03, 2009, 07:57:25 PM »
Yes, I followed the steps of the tutorial exactly...

1)WinAVR-20081205-install.exe
2)aStudio4b528.exe
3)aStudio413SP1b557.exe
4)AVRStudio4.13SP2.exe

I even uninstalled and reinstalled again...

Offline Billi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #42 on: March 01, 2009, 09:31:38 PM »
Just want to update this for future $50 robot builders...

You'll need to download the latest registered version of the AVR studio in order to connect. This is essentially what I have to do in order to finally communicate with my micro-controller...

tech support at Atmel sent me this link: http://support.atmel.no/bin/customer?=&action=viewKbEntry&id=10. and I installed the latest AVR studio and now I'm finally able to continue building my $50 robot! ;)

Those who purchased the AVR ISP2 programmers later need to have this done for some reason...
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 09:39:03 PM by Billi »

Offline davie_gravy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #43 on: March 23, 2009, 03:49:42 AM »
I'm having some trouble getting my code to upload to the microprocessor and I'm thinking my programmer might be wired wrong.  I purchased this programmer http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14 but the one they sent me doesn't look like that.  It's a in-line 6 pin and they don't have any schematics that match my pin layout.   So I've scoured this thread and took notice to the 6 pin wiring layout, but I still can't get my code to write so I was wondering if someone could take a look and tell me what the wiring pinout is for this specific programmer I have.  I've attached a picture for clarity.  Any help is greatly appreciated.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 23, 2009, 03:55:25 AM by davie_gravy »

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #44 on: March 23, 2009, 06:05:04 AM »
Sparkfun made an oops and sent out the wrong programmers. Contact them and they will send you the correct one.

Offline davie_gravy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #45 on: March 23, 2009, 02:29:32 PM »
Sparkfun made an oops and sent out the wrong programmers. Contact them and they will send you the correct one.

Thank you SO much!  I would have never knew.   Much Appreciated!

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #46 on: March 30, 2009, 10:31:28 PM »
Hello:

I am working on the $50 robot with my son. We have begun the circuit board. I got to the part where it said "READ THIS POST" and that brought me here. When i ordered all my parts, I went to SparkFun.com and searched for AVR-PG1. This is the page that came up:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=AVR-PG1&x=16&y=13&search_section=products

The closet match on that page was the PGM-00014, it also matched the price on the parts list of $12.95.

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14

So this is what I ordered. The picture in the above URL shows a ribbon cable. The one I got has more of a phone or Cat 5 style cable. (Not sure this matters). The real question is, the cable that I received has six pins - 1 x 6, not 2 x 3 like all the posts here. So it seems that the (2) 5 pin headers are not what I want to add. Can I just do one six pin header? Or is the programmer I received not compatible? Should I order a different one? I have attached a couple pictures of what I have. Any assistance is most appreciated.

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #47 on: March 30, 2009, 10:36:29 PM »
So right after I posted this message, I noticed page two of the thread and post above mine with the same issue. Looks like I need to contact Sparkfun and get a replacement. Just for clarity, is the one pictured here correct:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14

Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 10:53:28 PM by jaabot »

Offline Asellith

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 648
  • Helpful? 9
  • "I'm a leaf on the wind. Watch how I soar"
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #48 on: April 13, 2009, 08:06:17 AM »
Just to add my experience with the AVR ISP2 to the mix for reference. Do not try to install the USB drivers without installing AVR studio and the driver first. I still can't get my MK2 to work on this computer. I have it working on a laptop next to me. I tried uninstalling the drivers and everything but it will still not connect. If anyone has a fix for this I'd appreciate it.
Jonathan Bowen
CorSec Engineering
www.corseceng.com

Offline RoboDNA

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #49 on: May 28, 2009, 06:41:19 PM »
I bought the AVR ISP2 Programmer not too long ago and because it has only 6 pins, I soldered in the 6 pin male headers onto the breadboard.  However, once I reach towards the end of Tutorial 3B where I need to solder in the yellow wires, I am very confused at what wire should be solder to which pin.  The schematics depicted are for the programmer with the 10 pins so it doesn't apply to my case.  I have read all the responses in this thread but haven't found anything that would help me understand what is going on.  If someone can give me some guidance, I'll greatly appeciate it!

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #50 on: May 28, 2009, 07:06:52 PM »
Check out this post:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

There is a ZIP attachment on the first post with a very nice PDF diagram that uses the 6 pin header. Should be what you need.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #51 on: May 29, 2009, 02:27:13 AM »
pretty much the 10 pin is the same as the 6 pin expect for a few more gnds and a nc pin.
look at the forum post linked above to give you an idea.
Howdy

Offline Smyt3r

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #52 on: May 29, 2009, 09:11:33 AM »
Please could someone offer help to a complete noob!
I'm building the $50 robot and I am at the stage where I set up the programmer header. My programmer is definitely 6-pin and I really need to know where and how to solder the headers onto my board. All the posts about it just confuse me, I probably seem pretty dumb.

Please could someone help me out as this project HAS to be finished in 2 days!

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #53 on: May 29, 2009, 11:28:35 AM »
Look at my last post (two up from yours). There is a link there to a PDF you can download. In the PDF, it has a really nice schematic diagram that shows the 6 pin header and where to connect the wires.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #54 on: May 29, 2009, 11:51:10 AM »
Please could someone offer help to a complete noob!
I'm building the $50 robot and I am at the stage where I set up the programmer header. My programmer is definitely 6-pin and I really need to know where and how to solder the headers onto my board. All the posts about it just confuse me, I probably seem pretty dumb.

Please could someone help me out as this project HAS to be finished in 2 days!


jaabot has already given you the links to find the answer - but here's a shortcut to my PDF(in a zip) http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3292.0;attach=1304. Turn off the un-needed layers when viewing the PDF and you will see exactly what pins connect to what.

Or checkout Airmans tutorial at http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/290
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline sonictj

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Helpful? 11
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #55 on: May 29, 2009, 04:53:46 PM »
this is the page I always look at for reference http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article.php/avrtargetboards.

look about half way there should be pics of the 10 and 6 pin connectors with the appropriate names.

miso, mosi, sck, gnd, 5V, Reset

if you are still confused look at the pin configurations portion of the data sheet specific to your chip. The pins names and numbers will be spelled right out for you.

Offline Smyt3r

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #56 on: May 31, 2009, 03:34:05 AM »
Cheers guys I really appreciate your help. Problem solved!  ;D

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #57 on: May 31, 2009, 03:41:12 AM »
do we get any pictures and or videos? you should know we love those... ;D
Howdy

Offline xCyclone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
  • I am a noob at robot =P
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #58 on: June 02, 2009, 01:51:17 PM »
I am using the cheaper programmer... will it still work the way the tutorial says
ROBOTS WILL ONE DAY PWN THE WORLD... maybe.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
« Reply #59 on: June 02, 2009, 02:38:12 PM »
the cheaper one has a 10 pin connector so keep doing it the way the tutorial says with a 2x5 header.
Howdy

 


Get Your Ad Here