go_away

Author Topic: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor  (Read 925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespeachTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« on: March 02, 2010, 02:21:17 AM »
Hi,

I've just got my self three IR Sharp sensors GP2D120.

I'm using a programming language called Python and need to be able to reading to be displayed Python.

How do I need to connect up the Sensors?

Thanks

Offline Hewhowalk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 04:50:42 AM »
Hi!
Since you are using Python I assume you are using a standard PC. Then you need a expansion card to interface the sensor since the sensor and the computer don't speak the same "language". This should work for instance http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/phidgets-888.aspx

Good luck!

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 06:33:29 AM »
Hi,

How do I need to connect up the Sensors?
The PSD's has got an analog output, so you need some form of A/D-C.
Depending on the precision you want, you could make a simple circuit (with eg. a 555) to convert the output of the PSD's to a pulse train where the frequency holds the info - might be easier for you to use this way, at least if you can access the hardwares timers.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline jamespeachTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2010, 07:39:18 AM »
Hi,

How do I need to connect up the Sensors?
The PSD's has got an analog output, so you need some form of A/D-C.
Depending on the precision you want, you could make a simple circuit (with eg. a 555) to convert the output of the PSD's to a pulse train where the frequency holds the info - might be easier for you to use this way, at least if you can access the hardwares timers.


Hi, tbh I have no knowledge of making circuit, is there any easier way... Or is there a step by step tut out there?

Also I'm very limited on time, I can only spend 2 days on getting the sensors to work.


Offline Hewhowalk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2010, 11:09:00 AM »
I recommend you to check out http://www.trossenrobotics.com/sharp-ir-distance-sensor-gp2d12.aspx , there should be everything you need to interface the sensor with a PC without having to make any circuits by yourself.

Offline jamespeachTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2010, 04:29:58 PM »
I recommend you to check out http://www.trossenrobotics.com/sharp-ir-distance-sensor-gp2d12.aspx , there should be everything you need to interface the sensor with a PC without having to make any circuits by yourself.


Thanks once I get this,

How do I get a reading on my computer please?

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: How to get a reading on Sharp IR Sensor
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2010, 04:43:29 PM »
Hi,


You need to do just a bit of your own work. Try experimenting, try Google, show interrest, that's the best way of getting other people into helping.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

 


Get Your Ad Here