2

Author Topic: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II  (Read 7901 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kelpy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2011, 09:55:38 AM »



This should be a growing concern for Admin, as Win 7 just passed Vista in sales, and over half of Win 7 installs are 64 bit. So there's a rather large and growing customer base that his product is not compatible with.

I agree, and am quite surprised he hasn't actively addressed the issue.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2011, 12:18:33 PM »
64bit breaks a *lot* of software out there . . .

I toyed around with the bootloader again last night and found this:
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/topic/73196

It appears someone rewrote some of it . . . but I got annoyed with Google translator and gave up after awhile . . .


I'm definitely keeping 64-bit compatible in mind for my next product.


edit: Someone with 64bit give this .zip I found on that forum thread a try:
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/attachment/46863/UpdateLoader_V2.zip
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 12:22:23 PM by Admin »

Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2011, 01:26:44 PM »
oh and what product is that  ::)
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2011, 01:40:50 PM »
oh and what product is that  ::)
I only talk about products that are already for sale ::)

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2011, 03:09:05 PM »
Lol, 'SOR Club'

The first rule of SOR is don't ever talk about SOR (future products).

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #35 on: January 22, 2011, 11:35:31 AM »
Another program I found . . . see if it works for you to upload the .hex:
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/attachment/46596/UpdateLoader_2.1.9.zip

It's in german, but I'm sure you can guess what to do . . .

edit:
And if that doesn't work, give this a try:
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/attachment/59425/AVRFlash21.exe
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 11:45:31 AM by Admin »

Offline hardmouse

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #36 on: January 22, 2011, 10:46:01 PM »
Still can't get my AXON2 working with Win7-64. Hope someone could find the solution about this soon. The german version seems working but have no idea what it says.

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #37 on: January 28, 2011, 09:14:29 PM »
Ok, i give in!  I'm buying a AVR programmer. :P  I know admin brought attention to this one.
Quote
The cheapest full-featured programmer I know of:
http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1300
(I haven't used it myself, but other SoR members recommended it)
 
Does everyone recommend me getting this one?
thnx,
« Last Edit: January 28, 2011, 10:11:49 PM by BANE »

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #38 on: January 28, 2011, 09:55:26 PM »
Once again, you can install Win XP in a window using VMware. Even that it is installed on a x64 machine, it works as a regular x32 machine and the original x16 bootloader will work. You'll end up with a link to XP on your desktop, double click, then install all your Axon dev tools in it and you're done.

But this is only a hack, a true loader that works on x64 machines is still needed.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #39 on: January 28, 2011, 10:20:17 PM »
ive looked into multiple OS on my x64 but i hate switching between windows and programs.  What i've observed so far is that anyone serious about their robot hobby has a programmer and having to toggle the power during flashing a real hassle.  For $20 it doesnt seem like a bad ghetto fix to the real problem :D

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #40 on: January 28, 2011, 11:12:00 PM »
Ok, i give in!  I'm buying a AVR programmer. :P  I know admin brought attention to this one.
Does everyone recommend me getting this one?
thnx,

Yes, I own two.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list