go_away

Author Topic: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11) - Solved  (Read 9635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline praveen_khmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 1
Hi all,

I had made this 50$ robot and it was all working fine. However, now when I try to connect it with Ponyprog, I get a error message as "bus busy or hardware error [-11]".

All the connections are intact and everything looks fine.
I have also done the calibration and COM1 has been detected and the "Test OK" msg was displayed.

I had formatted my system and reinstalled ponyprog today. Not sure what has gone wrong. Can someone help me with this please?

Cheers,
Praveen
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 12:26:32 PM by praveen_khm »
Robot building is all about sharing and learning
-------------------------------------------
www.robotplatform.com : Beginners guide to Electronics & Robotics

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 04:59:14 AM »
is any other program using that COM port?
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline praveen_khmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 05:20:07 AM »
I don't think any other programs are using it, coz no other application is open, except my antivirus (avast, does it block this?)
Is there a way to check if the com port is busy/being used by other programs? Also, is this the only reason for this error to pop up?
Robot building is all about sharing and learning
-------------------------------------------
www.robotplatform.com : Beginners guide to Electronics & Robotics

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 05:29:05 AM »
well, it does say bus busy, and a USB or serial port are both buses
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2010, 06:13:10 AM »
Do you have a serial port on your computer or are you using a USB to serial converter ?

Serial AVR programmers do not to work with USB to serial converters.

Offline praveen_khmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2010, 08:05:22 AM »
Actually I was working with this before. I was using Serial programmer and it was all working fine. I am not sure if my Serial port is damaged. Night, I will try opening my comp and check if all is well.

But before that if anybody knows if this is a software problem, kindly guide me.
Robot building is all about sharing and learning
-------------------------------------------
www.robotplatform.com : Beginners guide to Electronics & Robotics

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2010, 11:21:57 AM »
unlikely, but if you want do a computer restart and re-install ponyprog.
It cant hunt to try.
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline praveen_khmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 12:02:12 PM »
 :( Sadly none of the options are working. I tried reinstalling the entire stuff. WinAVR, AVRStudio, PonyProg, but nothing worked. Anybody there who can still help me?
Robot building is all about sharing and learning
-------------------------------------------
www.robotplatform.com : Beginners guide to Electronics & Robotics

Offline praveen_khmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11)
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 12:25:55 PM »
hey... issue has been resolved. For some unknown reason, my antivirus was removing ar.exe file from Winavr. Now restored and added an exception, it worked like a charm. Thanks everyone who tried to resolve my issue.   :)
Robot building is all about sharing and learning
-------------------------------------------
www.robotplatform.com : Beginners guide to Electronics & Robotics

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11) - Solved
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2010, 02:33:03 PM »
your welcome, were here to help :)
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Proctor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11) - Solved
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2012, 03:46:43 PM »
Hey guys
I'm doing the $50 tutorial as well and having the same problem. I'm glad you found the solution. My question is, how can I stop avast from removing the ar.exe file?
Thanks, Proctor

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 747
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11) - Solved
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2012, 05:43:03 PM »
I've not had this problem (I don't use PonyProg) or had problems with Avast blocking/removing .exe files.  My guess for how to prevent this, though, is to right click on the tray icon and
Open avast! user interface -> Real-time shields -> File System Shield -> Expert Settings -> Exclusions

Of course, Avast changes its interface all the time, so if we're using different versions, that might not work for you.
I

Offline Proctor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Error from PonyProg - Bus busy or Hardware Error(-11) - Solved
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2012, 07:34:17 PM »
That worked. Thanks Gertlex

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list