Author Topic: Using my Axon MicroController  (Read 1393 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ksryan2Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Using my Axon MicroController
« on: March 22, 2010, 09:03:29 AM »
Hey, I am new to using micro-controllers and I have some programming experience, but I am having trouble with connecting ultrasonic sensors(SRF-05) to my Axon MCU. I am not sure what ports to use, nor am I sure as what type of wiring I should use to connect my sensors to the MCU. Can anyone give me ideas?

Thanks

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
Re: Using my Axon MicroController
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 04:22:57 PM »
is this the one you are talking about?
http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/srf05tech.htm
 in that case, you could just use WebbotLib: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=7787.0

PS that webbot lib link is just to a topic that says stuff on WebbotLib (keep in mind that info on the first page will have stuff about the first verson of WebbotLib) Here is the link to the download of WebbotLib, which includes documentation:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/webbotavrclib/files/
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline RobotBits

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Using my Axon MicroController
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 05:10:01 PM »
If you haven't seen it already, the technical data for the SRF05 on the Robot Electronics website is quite useful.

The link is: http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/srf05tech.htm

You don't need to use any ports as there is no serial interface on the SRF05. All you need to do is measure the length of a pulse output on the "echo" pin. The length of the pulse is proportional to the distance of the object.

A typical sequence might be:
1. send out a trigger pules to the SRF05,
2. wait for the rising edge on the echo pin,
3. start a counter running,
4. wait for a falling edge - stop the counter,
5. read the counters value and calculate the distance
RobotBits - Robot kits and components for fun and learning!
http://www.RobotBits.co.uk

Offline RobotBits

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Using my Axon MicroController
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2010, 05:37:23 PM »
Just spotted this on the forum - should help loads! :)

    http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=5943.0
RobotBits - Robot kits and components for fun and learning!
http://www.RobotBits.co.uk

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Using my Axon MicroController
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 12:19:56 AM »
Yep, its supported by WebbotLib and Project Designer shows you what pins you need to connect.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline ksryan2Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Using my Axon MicroController
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 12:32:12 PM »
Thanks to everyone who replied. I have it figured out i looked at all the links and each one helped, so thanks again. :)

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list