go_away

Author Topic: Linux and Robotics  (Read 1782 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Linux and Robotics
« on: April 29, 2010, 04:36:03 PM »
Who actually does all their robot work on linux? What software do you use?
I'm just curious after an arguement with a friend.

This is not a flame war. If you do not use linux for robot work do not post
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Linux and Robotics
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 04:38:33 PM »
I use Solaris at school. All the computer nodes are hooked up to the supercomputer so everything is blazing fast  ;D  Nothing too robotics related though, but I do watch robot videos on youtube  :P

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Linux and Robotics
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 05:08:03 PM »
sure, i do everything on Linux. it's a requirement in my line of work. and it's the only OS with the flexibility i require for my hobbies.
what do you want to know exactly?
i program microcontrollers from Linux.
i've also had robots running Linux. (although haven't worked on them for a while now... must resurrect that project.)

This is not a flame war. If you do not use linux for robot work do not post
dream on. here we all come carrying matches.


dunk.

Offline Canabots

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
  • Helpful? 6
  • It's not a bug, it's a feature!
Re: Linux and Robotics
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 05:09:16 PM »
Lately, I've been doing all robotics works exclusively on Ubuntu.

Eclipse makes things easy for the Axon/AVR, and Webbot's Designers also help a lot too. For receiving data from the Axon, I just use gtkTerm, or whatever other terminal I feel like.

I've done some designing with Q-CAD, and I would trouble myself more with 3D designers, but lately, I haven't had much of a need for that software. :P

I use EagleCAD as well for circuit design.

Currently, the only reason I can see myself using Windows anymore for robotics is just to use Google Sketchup...
My robotics, electronics, software, or other stuff blog:
www.saltech.wordpress.com

Offline z.s.tar.gzTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: Linux and Robotics
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2010, 06:14:36 PM »
dream on. here we all come carrying matches.

I gotta put that to supress the troll accusations when things get out of control. =P
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Ryltar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Linux and Robotics
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2010, 10:20:31 PM »
I do all of my robot work and 90% of my other coding work on a linux tablet. Most of the systems are cleaner and work better than I have found on my windows environment (with the exception of TextPad, haven't found a good alternative for linux yet).

 


Get Your Ad Here