Author Topic: flame sensor....  (Read 2577 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stealthstinger101Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
  • eh! don't get saassy with me! RETRO ROXS!!!;)
flame sensor....
« on: May 19, 2007, 08:28:34 AM »
just like i said in the subject title, does anyone know how to make a simple but, efficient(and cheap) fire sensor?
and how would i program it into the micro controller? thx in advance.

~STEALTHSTINGER101   XD
« Last Edit: May 19, 2007, 08:29:52 AM by stealthstinger101 »

Offline Somchaya

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 180
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
Re: flame sensor....
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2007, 01:27:40 PM »
Hmm, the easiest I can think of would be to use a temperature sensor. Assuming you can stick the sensor into a fire, if you register a temperature above a threshold, you can declare it as a fire.

This wouldn't be terribly accurate I suppose, but it might get the job done well enough.
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: flame sensor....
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2007, 03:17:56 PM »
I would just say buy one . . . they cost like ~$60 . . .

if that isnt an option, why not try an infrared sensor (heat is radiated in IR)?

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: flame sensor....
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2007, 05:27:03 AM »
Hack a fire alarm?

The government probably pours money into making them as cheap as possible. I would definitely look into simply hacking one of these.

Turn off the sound, of course.........however..........to activate the sound this may be some sort of +5V channel or something.

Ideal for a microcontroller, perhaps.
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: flame sensor....
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2007, 05:27:58 AM »
Also, when doing something like this, maybe a thermocouple would be absolutely brilliant. Very cheap.

You would need to amplify the o/p though......?!!
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline Tsukubadaisei

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • Helpful? 0
Re: flame sensor....
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2007, 05:05:43 AM »
I have some ideas, but first I would like to know why do you want to sense fire and how(and where and for how long) the fire is going to appear. I mean for each situation a different kind of sensor is required. Sometimes you could use the smoke, sometimes it is better use IR, sometimes direct contact with a thermoresitor is the best, it depends a lot on the situation. Please expain the situation.
A.I.(yes those are my initials)

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list