go_away

Author Topic: Voyager2's Robot Fish  (Read 8226 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #30 on: July 02, 2010, 08:09:02 AM »
frostyg02uk the tail is driven by two round Electro-Magnets.
In the middle  is a little metal "hammer" that is attracted by the magnet.
A pivot allows the "hammer handle" to swing back and forth, in turn driving the tail.

I'll use a plastic milk carton(cut up)to form the body with silicone-rubber to join it all up.
Yeah it is a bit ambitious for my second project...
Suppose its better then that 18dof humanoid...

Voyager2 
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline frostyg02uk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2010, 09:30:51 AM »
I see wow. Well I guess why do something easy that everyone has done and not be challenged. Ambitious is the way to go! Im certainly rooting for your success

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2010, 08:45:50 PM »
OK to clear it up for everyone else I've attached a Google-Sketchup file (zipped) that shows the tail mechanism.
Red shows the pivot, dark grey shows the electro-magnets, white shows the metal "hammer", and light grey shows the tail.
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #33 on: July 03, 2010, 06:08:19 AM »
Hi,

If you move a (2 part?) coil with fixed magnet(s), you'll have less mass to move.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #34 on: July 05, 2010, 09:01:56 PM »
Hi All,
Hi,

If you move a (2 part?) coil with fixed magnet(s), you'll have less mass to move.


Do you mean have the electro-magnet in the middle on the boom/arm/thing and have permanent-magnets on either side?
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline random robots

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Helpful? 3
  • he drives worse than my robot... thats sad
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #35 on: July 06, 2010, 05:53:57 AM »
most likely, yeah
this is a signature.

Offline Selenaut-14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
  • Helpful? 0
  • Making the $125 robot...
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #36 on: July 06, 2010, 06:46:52 AM »
That sounds pretty smart... If you put on on each side with attracting ends going towards each other. This not only increases the secure-ness of the attachement, but it also makes your hammer idea much more powerful.
The answer is always yes if it is never no.
--------------
SKILLS:

Building- great
Coding/programming- good
circuitry- pitiful

Offline Selenaut-14

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
  • Helpful? 0
  • Making the $125 robot...
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2010, 09:50:28 PM »
Hey, I had an idea...

If you were to find a non-flammable epoxy resin coating, you could use it to waterproof all of your electronics... Provided they are already in circuit.
The answer is always yes if it is never no.
--------------
SKILLS:

Building- great
Coding/programming- good
circuitry- pitiful

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #38 on: July 10, 2010, 11:07:50 PM »
« Last Edit: July 23, 2010, 07:39:23 AM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #39 on: July 12, 2010, 09:37:16 PM »
Hi All,

I'm thinking of powering the electronics with a 10F super cap like the ones from SparkFun.
The coils can be powered with the two batterys 3v @ 400mAh.

Does anyone know of a place I can get 2 MOSFETS that can handle 800mAh(I want some overkill ones)

Voyager2
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Alfa_Zulu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #40 on: July 13, 2010, 05:31:28 AM »
fishy fishy

Voyager2 asked me to post something here so I did lol

btw on a serious note, how do you mean you'll just use a capacitor to power the MCU?
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 05:45:23 AM by Alfa_Zulu »

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #41 on: July 13, 2010, 08:02:28 AM »
Super caps have very very high capacity that can basically be used as a battery. I would not reccomend it as it can easily fail, which is bad in a fish.

I like fairchilds logic level mosfets, they work at 4.5 volts which is excellent. Something like a FDS6680 would work nice

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #42 on: July 13, 2010, 09:14:46 PM »
Super caps have very very high capacity that can basically be used as a battery. I would not reccomend it as it can easily fail, which is bad in a fish.

I like fairchilds logic level mosfets, they work at 4.5 volts which is excellent. Something like a FDS6680 would work nice
Do they work at 5v too, and can they be switched directly from the MCU?

I had a wacky idea, can i split the battery so it provides 3 @ 400mAh, from one set of conections, but can supply 6v @ 200mAh from another set?
I'm going to have two batterys at 3v @ 200mAh each...

 Voyager2
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Alfa_Zulu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #43 on: July 14, 2010, 02:00:36 AM »
umm... not entirely sure what you mean, but the mAh rating is just the capacity, so the components will only use as much as they want depending on their current draw. but you can have a 6V battery go to a regulator to 3V to power some comonents and also have the same battery power a motor for example at the 6V, or use a 5V regulator so its a little more stable.

      [6V Battery] -> [3V regulator] -> [all 3V components]
                      |-> [5V regulator] -> [all 5V components]

for this to work you'll just need to have a common ground.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #44 on: July 14, 2010, 03:29:54 AM »
No I mean have the battery I parallel to provide 400mAh @ 3v + have them in series to provide 200mAh @ 6v, both at once.
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #45 on: July 14, 2010, 03:53:11 AM »
Seems like a bad idea...
Howdy

Offline Alfa_Zulu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #46 on: July 14, 2010, 04:04:11 AM »
if 2 batteries are parallel their voltages don't add up, 2 3V batteries running parallel will just be 3V,
if you want 6V you'll need to run them in series.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish Become A Volunteer
« Reply #47 on: July 14, 2010, 05:17:05 AM »
You can become a Robot Fish volunteer!
Send me free stuff and you get your name in extra-large on my site (its under construction)
To volunteer send me a PM.
Note, as a volunteer you will not ask for payment, you will have to pay for stamps, etc.
Not bad if you live in Oz, stamps are only 60c(they went up in price >:()

The following items will be accepted as "donations"
  • New micro-controller(I only have ATmega 168's :()
  • One set of electo-magnets
  • Battery's(not leaked)
  • Appropriate sensors(photo-resistors,bump-switches, etc.)
  • Appropriate high current transistors/MOSFETs
  • Assorted robot "stuff" that can fit in an envelope
Want to donate?
Send me a PM or e-mail me([email protected] with your name(full), e-mail and the type of part you want to send.
I will e-mail or PM you with my address.

I am not responsible for lost, damaged or misdirected mail



Voyager2
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 10:15:20 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #48 on: July 14, 2010, 05:23:37 AM »
Oz? With wicked witches and yellow roads  ???

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #49 on: July 14, 2010, 05:31:01 AM »
Oz? With wicked witches and yellow roads  ???
Australia you Yank ;D ;D ;D ;)
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #50 on: July 14, 2010, 05:33:58 AM »
i think that it will be more effective for you if you just make an order from a site for components like MOSFETs, photo resistors and bump switches. most people chose to keep these as they are always handy as you never know when they may come in handy.

don't deem what is and isn't acceptable, be great full for anything that comes your way considering what your asking.

if you offer to pay shipping you might get a couple of things that people don't need any more etc. asking people to pay shipping is a big ask as shipping for some items cost quite a bit.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #51 on: July 14, 2010, 05:42:53 AM »
Ok i can pay for shipping, anything less than five dollars(AU$) though.
But I cant pay the donator, I will allow "Replied Payed".
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #52 on: July 23, 2010, 07:47:07 AM »
I've removed the attached item from my previous post, and added a link to download it from FileSend.
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #53 on: July 24, 2010, 10:33:18 PM »
Hi,

Does anyone know of a place I can get 2 MOSFETS that can handle 800mAh(I want some overkill ones)
None that can be run off 3V!
Why do you want MOSFETs?
BjTs like BC327 and/or BC337 (depending on what polarity you need) will do fine for you - or get their equivalents from Zetex to get the lowest V_ce_sat (the voltage drop) possible.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #54 on: July 25, 2010, 12:52:06 AM »
They have to switch at 3.3volts, not 3 volts.
They need to switch the tail electro-magnets.
3.7v will be the maximum they switch
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #55 on: August 03, 2010, 10:19:07 PM »
Just for anyone interested, i'm going to call my fish:


FRANK STALLONE : the robot fish ;)
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 10:21:56 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline voyager2Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #56 on: August 05, 2010, 06:26:44 AM »
My first fish body was rather horrible, believe me, it was horrible!
But lucky you, I made a second one which i call, V2
Here are some pictures, not quiet complete though:





Note the hole in the side, that's where wires, waterproof connectors and other interesting stuff will come out.
The hole in the back is where the EMs, AVR, etc. will be slotted in.

Current Progress:

Body 50% (Body V2 is under construction, V1 was embarissing)

Electronics 10% (Got almost all componets)

Mecanics 25% (Electromagnets in mail, tail is made)

Software 5% (Know how it is going to work, but need electronics)


Please excuse the fact that much of this is copied from:
http://letsmakerobots.com/node/21982
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline amando96

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 187
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #57 on: August 05, 2010, 07:19:22 AM »
Haven't fully understood how it's going to work, but good luck!
No point in using MOSFETS, just use transistors, 800mA is NOT high current, and that sparkfun 10F capacitor can only handle about 2v.
Rorcle, 60% complete
AATV, 5% complete

Offline macdad-

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #58 on: August 05, 2010, 02:21:14 PM »
Thanks for pointing that out Razor Concepts.
I never really know "g-cm" means

The g-cm is a measure of torque just like lb-ft. In your case the actuator has a torque of 2.61g-cm. This will be easier to think of with a left-right actuator than with a standard rotational dc motor. From the actuator, if you go a centimeter out from the actuator's head, then it can move 2.61 grams back and forth. But I highly recommend you do some tests before you get that actuator(Even if you use two or three at a time). As the resistance of the water will increase the force necessary to move the fin back and forth.

Also try to make the fin as hydrodynamic as possible, to reduce "blocky" surface area which would slow down the movement of water going around the fin.

Offline Hawaii00000

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Voyager2's Robot Fish
« Reply #59 on: August 21, 2010, 06:24:06 PM »
Good to see that you've started the actual build. I find that if I leave it to long I lose interest
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list