go_away

Author Topic: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin  (Read 1346 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jak24Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
  • Helpful? 0
motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« on: July 06, 2010, 10:10:10 AM »
HI

I am currently looking for a motor with 600 + rpm
and around 100mNm of torque, length of max 6cm (including gearbox) , and current of max 1 A(continuous) , (I'm building a robot that is driven by 4 omni wheels and is 1.5 kg)
i have found some motors like this on http://www.maxonmotor.com/
but they are quite expensive...
does any one know of a  motor that has those specs and is relatively cheaper than maxon ?
also some motor specs are in mNm and some are in g/ cm or oz/ inch could any one tell me were to get a good conversion tool that can convert these measurements or could someone tell me how the convert them ?

thanks

regards

Jak24 

Offline frostyg02uk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 10:40:23 AM »
You can usually get conversion rates from yahoo. I think if you do a search you might even get one thats interactive, where you put in a value and it converts it for you.

Offline MechHead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2010, 04:13:40 PM »
The closest motor that I have found that is around these stats is this one:
http://banebots.com/pc/MS-16XXX-050/MS-16024-050

It's rpm should be around 600 and has more torque.  I'm not sure if its current would be under your 1A under whatever load you're using it at though.

Offline rani_lokare

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2010, 10:09:27 AM »
A centrifuge machine(rpm:1000) can exp a max torque of up to 29kN. the rating of present motor which is driving the machine is 350KW,which is getting supply from 6.6KV line and current drawn by motor is 22-25amps. Can a 270KW motor be used in place of 350KW to drive the machine with the existing 6.6KV line(keeping in mind the max toruqe  of machine is 29KN)?

Offline Jak24Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2010, 02:07:26 PM »
HI

The closest motor that I have found that is around these stats is this one:
http://banebots.com/pc/MS-16XXX-050/MS-16024-050

It's rpm should be around 600 and has more torque.  I'm not sure if its current would be under your 1A under whatever load you're using it at though.

Yeah it looks fine but i re checked my calculations and i would really need my motor with :
1200rpm
less than 1A continues current
and im not exactly sure about the torque, as i don't know how much torque is needed to drive a 1.5 kg robot with 4 omni-wheels(these omni wheel's:http://www.acroname.com/robotics/parts/R98-4CM-POLY-ROLLER-3.html placed 90 degrees from each other)
could any one tell me how much torque is needed?

thanks

regards
Jak24

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Helpful? 98
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2010, 02:29:53 PM »
The SoR motor calculator can give you some ballpark torque numbers.

Offline Loligo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 1
Re: motor selectoin/ torque calculatoin
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2010, 08:41:29 AM »

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list