Author Topic: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK  (Read 1152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AravindhTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« on: August 07, 2010, 10:06:41 AM »
Hi,
I am trying to build the pid line follower with the circuit given by PRATHEEK in HIS tutorial.
There is no crystal specified anywhere in the components list or in the circuit.
Wat am i supposed to do for generating the clock pulse for the microcontroller?
Plz help out.Thank in advance...

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,941
  • Helpful? 98
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 11:26:22 AM »
Do you have a link?
If the info is a bit old and he's using an older PIC like the 16F84A then very likely he is using a 4MHz XTAL.
That's my best guess on limited info.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 05:00:39 PM »
Or an internal oscillator perhaps.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline AravindhTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 07:28:14 PM »
The link to the electronics part of the robot is

http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/360

The schematic can be found here

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn236/pratheekn/Lotl.png

plz view the image using some software like picasa as the size of the letters are very very diminished...

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,941
  • Helpful? 98
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2010, 08:54:25 PM »
My bad on thinking it used a PIC.

Looking at the code from the link I found the following line in th lcd.c and the lch.h files:
   #define F_CPU 12000000UL

But the makefile has this line:
F_CPU = 1000000


I believe Soren is correct that it is using the internal oscillator. Anyone know at what frequency an Atmega16 uses?


Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2010, 09:34:41 PM »
Default is 1mhz

Offline AravindhTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2010, 12:53:40 AM »
Yes guys..
It does have an internal clock...
So wat frequency should i set it at?
Should i set it at 16 Mhz as it is the highest speed possible...?
Or should i settle with 1 Mhz...?

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2010, 09:48:33 AM »
You do not have to change any clock bits. Leave them to their default settings.

If you have already change them, set the bits for 1 MHz.



Offline nik@sdm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: REGARDING PID LINEFOLLOWER BY PRATHEEK
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2011, 10:40:04 AM »
hi pratheek...
please tell me where the switch buttons, just appearing besides the LCD are connected.....
i think the are connected to pin no. 30,31 n 32(not at all sure).
there is also a huge confusion regarding the 7 pins(dots),appearing at the bottom of the circuit diagram so as what to be connected to them!
these are just besides the captioned LCD DATA pins n SENSOR ARRAY pins.

 


Get Your Ad Here