Author Topic: Question about multimeter  (Read 1205 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Melcin PowellTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Question about multimeter
« on: August 12, 2010, 01:28:35 PM »
well i just recently bought a Digital MultiMeter but when i try to read resistance i get the infinite resistance sign or it bounces everywhere and then goes back down to zero. What is happening? What am i doing wrong? The leads are not touching anything other then the resistor.

Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 01:32:34 PM »
well there's the usual:

-try a different resistor
-change your batteries

and if neither of those work you should probably return it.
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline Melcin PowellTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 02:03:59 PM »
Ya well i did that but it is till freaking out. Thanks for the advice though

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,943
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2010, 02:41:22 PM »
Touch the two probes together and it should show a few readings before settling to read less than one Ohm.
If this does work then first replace the battery as Blackbeard suggested.

Offline Melcin PowellTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2010, 03:35:28 PM »
Well thanks waltr, but i already returned it haha. So what digital multimeter would ya'll recommend i buy now?

Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2010, 04:26:15 PM »
Well thanks waltr, but i already returned it haha. So what digital multimeter would ya'll recommend i buy now?

if you have lots of money then get a Fluke. they're the best and they last a very long time!
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline Melcin PowellTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2010, 04:44:22 PM »

Offline blackbeard

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2010, 07:14:40 PM »
seems ok. a bit pricy for what it is though.
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline Melcin PowellTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2010, 07:25:40 PM »
Well crud i sure don't want to buy anything pricey.

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,943
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2010, 07:40:46 PM »
I have a couple of inexpensive DMMs that were made in Korea. One cost about $40 25 years ago and the second about $15 10 years ago. Both still work.

Any of these should be ok:
http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StoreCatalogDrillDownView?langId=-1&storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&freeText=DMM&search_type=jamecoall

Maybe someone else has a suggestion of a DMM bought recently.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2010, 08:27:05 PM »
Make sure the multimeter can measure frequency Hz - its invaluable for measuring PWM and servo signals.

Offline tmoney68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Question about multimeter
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2010, 09:35:15 PM »
I have an Extech model 430. It measures everything including frequency and capacitance. I don't remember what I paid,but it was quite reasonable otherwise I wouldn't have bought it.  ;D

 


Get Your Ad Here