Author Topic: Wifi robot  (Read 1550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tgeek430Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Wifi robot
« on: August 20, 2010, 10:20:07 AM »
im trying to build a wifi robot but every where i look i can never find what parts i need for my robot


so if you could help please post what parts i need or something like that

thanks
Dylan

Offline convoluted

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Helpful? 0
  • Stuck in the s-domain
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 02:57:48 PM »
Haven't built on myself, but you could look at using an Arduino microcontroller and XBee wireless modules (will need 2). http://www.robotshop.ca/sfe-maxstream-xbee-transceiver-module-ufl-4.html. What is the concept of your project? Are you looking to power it using DC motors or servos?

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Helpful? 98

Offline Hawaii00000

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2010, 09:24:00 PM »
You might find this interesting: http://hackaday.com/2010/08/23/wifi-controlled-arduino-bot/
I'm not sure how much information it will give you but its interesting none the less.
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

Offline tgeek430Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 03:55:48 AM »
Haven't built on myself, but you could look at using an Arduino microcontroller and XBee wireless modules (will need 2). http://www.robotshop.ca/sfe-maxstream-xbee-transceiver-module-ufl-4.html. What is the concept of your project? Are you looking to power it using DC motors or servos?


i was thinking of using servos


Offline tgeek430Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2010, 04:00:18 AM »
Can you use computer motherboards for this project
Because i have like 3 computers laying around

Offline Hawaii00000

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2010, 11:13:44 AM »
Technically I think you probably could, but I wouldn't recommend it. Easier just buy a microcontroller like and arduino: http://www.arduino.cc/
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

Offline tgeek430Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wifi robots
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 08:29:50 PM »
i think i might of run into another proplem

would this be able to connect to a password protected wifi?

because our wifi is passworded

Offline Hawaii00000

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Wifi robot
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 10:26:54 PM »
I can imagine there would be a way, considering so many people have a password in their wifi.
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

 


Get Your Ad Here