go_away

Author Topic: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability  (Read 1400 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jp1390Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Helpful? 0
$50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« on: August 30, 2010, 11:53:13 AM »
Hi, so I just started getting all the parts together for this but the only problem is that the ATMEGA8-16PU MCU is not available anywhere or has a really long lead time. Is there an alternative to this part that I could use that wont change the setup of this robot, around the same price?

Thank you,

JP

Offline Conscripted

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Helpful? 10
Re: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 12:41:34 PM »
The atmega 168 has the same pinout as the ATMEGA 8. No need to change the hardware at all. You will just need to change the software a little. There is already a tutorial to tell you how.

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=ATMEGA168V-10PU-ND

Conscripted

Offline jp1390Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2010, 01:03:01 PM »
The atmega 168 has the same pinout as the ATMEGA 8. No need to change the hardware at all. You will just need to change the software a little. There is already a tutorial to tell you how.

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=ATMEGA168V-10PU-ND

Conscripted


Awesome! Exactly what I was looking for haha. Any idea on where this tutorial is? Makes my life much easier!

JP

EDIT: nvm it's in the $50 outline.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 01:51:12 PM by jp1390 »

Offline lowprofyl

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2010, 01:55:56 PM »
ATMEGA8-16PU... couldnt find it anywhere.

will the ATMEGA8L-8PU work the same.. just a little slower?


Offline Conscripted

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Helpful? 10
Re: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2010, 02:34:45 PM »
ATMEGA8-16PU... couldnt find it anywhere.

will the ATMEGA8L-8PU work the same.. just a little slower?



It has less memory but otherwise should work the same.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,152
  • Helpful? 110
Re: $50 Robot - Question about ATMEGA8-16PU Availability
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2010, 04:45:34 PM »
Or get the ATMega328P. Same pinouts but 32k of program memory versus 8k on the ATMega8, or 16k on the ATMega168
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list