Author Topic: 50$robot construction sequence question  (Read 1138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
50$robot construction sequence question
« on: September 01, 2010, 11:13:59 AM »
Hi all,

Well, all my parts are here. Re-reading the tutorial, specifically about servo miodification, I saw that to "center the servo" i need a microcontroler to input the .hex file

I'm illiterate in robotics, just starting out. what I read above tells me that i need to get the 50$ robot microcontroller make BEFORE modifiing the servos for the heels....right ? i just want to make sure i do it right and that i don't need to buy something else...again.

oh, in case this info helps, I'll be using the AVRISP mkII programmer. I also have yet to download the AVR studio4, pony prog and all that as stated in the tutorial.

Thanks for responding

Offline richiereynolds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2010, 11:22:32 AM »
yep, that's right, make the microcontroller first.

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 01:36:16 PM »
thanks! ;D I had planned the "blindly follow the steps" given in the tutorial.... so off soldering I go!


Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$robot programmer question this time
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2010, 05:07:43 PM »
Hello Again.

Just finished downloading and all.

There is a link to a post on here about opening the programmer to switch the 6 pin to a 10 pin. Is that necessary ??? I'.m making the 50$ robot with AT mega8

Offline Hawaii00000

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Helpful? 2
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2010, 07:22:20 PM »
I'm not sure what you mean about 6 pin and 10pin, but you have to have either an ATmega8, ATmega168, or ATmega328. The ATmega168 and 328 are the same as the ATmega8, just more powerful.
"God chose to make the world according to very beautiful mathematics."
-Paul Dirac
**************************************************************
Its Hawaii Five-O. Get it?

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2010, 07:57:08 PM »
For the AVRISPmkII programmer you can just use the 6-pin ribbon cable as it is.  Somewhere on these forums is a post where instructions are given on how to setup your $50 robot for use with the AVRISPmkII programmer.
Also, you don't actually need PonyProg if you have the AVRISPmkII; PonyProg is only needed if you have the Serial programmer.

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2010, 10:13:50 AM »
Thanks Metalslug... there is indeed a post on that and it took quite a lot of reading to find a clear indication. I says it's just a minor adjustment to make the pins to 6 instead of 10...there is also a good pdf graph that shows it clearly.


Offline GearMotion

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
Re: 50$robot construction sequence question
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2010, 10:58:06 AM »
Thanks Metalslug... there is indeed a post on that and it took quite a lot of reading to find a clear indication. I says it's just a minor adjustment to make the pins to 6 instead of 10...there is also a good pdf graph that shows it clearly.


Also take a look here for build instructions that highlight using the 6-pin ISP connector.

http://circuitgizmos.com/wordpress/?p=471


 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list