Author Topic: Why are programmers "naked"?  (Read 791 times)

Offline greywanderer012345Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Why are programmers "naked"?
« on: September 07, 2010, 11:30:34 AM »
I'm very new to microcontrollers and I've been looking over the tutorials on this site. I want to get started and was finally going to buy everything for the $50 robot, but I was going to buy an atmega168 rather than the atmega8. Also, since the programmer is expensive, I only want to ever have to buy one. I am thinking of getting the pololu programmer, but I have to ask, why don't all of the programmers have some kind of protective case? I'm under the impression that there is no need to mount your programmer to your robot, and I'm just trying to wrap my head around it. I see that the avr isp 2 programmer has a case. Do people build their own cases? Or maybe mount the programmer somewhere specific? Thanks to anyone who has an answer for me.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 11:31:50 AM by greywanderer012345 »

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Why are programmers "naked"?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 12:07:00 PM »
Hi,

It is just to save money, that some of the cheap programmers come as just a PCB - better quality programmers will have a box around it.

No problem in rigging a box yourself though, but you can get some that are still fairly cheap and complete.

Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline blackbeard

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2010, 12:18:20 PM »
Hi,

It is just to save money, that some of the cheap programmers come as just a PCB - better quality programmers will have a box around it.

No problem in rigging a box yourself though, but you can get some that are still fairly cheap and complete.