go_away

Author Topic: CAD of my newest robot  (Read 45733 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vidam

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 423
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #60 on: August 13, 2008, 02:27:54 PM »
ERP won the instructables contest! yaaaaaay!

(and thanks for the votes everyone!)

http://www.instructables.com/community/RoboGames_Robot_Contest_Winners/
Quote
The author of this Instructables will receive a trip to the June 2009 RoboGames in San Francisco, CA! Includes airfare for one from anywhere within the continental US, 4 nights in a hotel near the event, and VIP access/entry fees.


I'll make sure to take lotsa vids and pics to share for everyone. I guess ERP is now entering another contest, just got to finish all the upgrades . . .


That's awesome news! Congrats on winning!

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #61 on: October 11, 2008, 01:02:44 AM »
Finally, a new update. I improved the arm and gripper, and made two of the same arms so now ERP has two grippers.

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_ERP.shtml#gripper

I haven't had much time to focus on ERP right now, but I've been doing a lot on algorithm development. I'll probably have some more new stuff in about a month or two.

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #62 on: March 01, 2009, 01:23:19 AM »
OMG INFINITE FUNDING!!!!!!!!! LUCKY!!



Joe

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #63 on: April 16, 2009, 04:53:43 AM »
I've been working on ERP again lately. Since in the long term I want it to play fetch with me, I figured I should test out simple grab and throw capabilities. See demo video below.

I also upgraded the arm software using my SoR Biped Engine. It no longer does ultra-fast servo-breaking ninja moves, but smooth tai chi style movements. It might take me awhile before I upgrade a video on that . . . the next step would be to get the camera to track *and* move the arm to grab the ball wherever it is.

Robot Grabs & Throws ERP test

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #64 on: April 16, 2009, 06:12:46 AM »
That is so cool! Congrats!

Now I have to teach MiniEric to do that, using both arms of course... But after we move to a new home at the end of the month.

I like the background, it's a lot easier to use the camera with a single background color, that's where I'm having problems.
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #65 on: June 20, 2009, 08:43:11 PM »
Some new features have been added to ERP. The first video shows how I gathered up the wiring - the arms kept ripping out the servo wiring before I did this:

Robot Wiring Organization Tutorial



This is a 3D scanning and mapping test for my ERP. Its basically mapping obstacles, then choosing the most free path. It scans in only 30 points, so its fairly poor resolution. It's only the first step for a more advanced algorithm in the future.

Robot 3D Scanning and Mapping

Offline kpmcgurk

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #66 on: June 20, 2009, 08:58:38 PM »
That wire rapping stuff is really useful! Our team was able to get a large roll of it from one of our sponsors, It turned a huge robot of wires everywhere and made it nice and neat!! but when the competition came, we where way overweight so we where forced to use zip ties.

I would reccomend this rap to anyone who has a robot with loose wires everywhere!! It is a must have

-Kyle
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline RoboChan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
  • Helpful? 0
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #67 on: June 21, 2009, 07:53:24 PM »
how did you do that stress analysis with inventor??

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #68 on: June 21, 2009, 08:02:46 PM »
how did you do that stress analysis with inventor??
It has a stress analysis add-on . . . that costs a lot of money :P

Offline Tsukubadaisei

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • Helpful? 0
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #69 on: July 06, 2009, 05:16:04 AM »
Why do you take so many samples on the same position?
I mean, I think I know the answer but sensor passes through the same spot several times and the overall performance is slow. Area scanners are pretty slow, even the URG I got last year(search the forum for the pictures) was pretty lazy(500ms per full scan). I know Admins device is still a prototype and it is supposed to be slow, but I cant understand the reason you go back to the same spot and scan it again. It is just way too slow(sorry if I sound rude, I dont mean it).

I dont know what are you trying to do, but I think taking several samples and then you take the mean(or some other filtering procedure). If that is the case then why dont you take saveral samplings at once and the move to the next position. After you got the readings for all the positions, the robot moves. No repeating. Usually ucontrollers can sample at the order of MSPS, so that should'n be a problem. That is how the original URG I've go does its job at least.

BTW, since you are building your on area scanner, I think I gonna post the drawings for my own are scanner. After I've got my URG, I reversed engineered it and desing a (much) cheaper, but unfortunatelly, not as precise version using several SHARP PSD sensors, unfortunatelly I havent got time to build it but I would be interested to see if my concepts can be useful for anything. I will post it during the weekend when I am back home.
A.I.(yes those are my initials)

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #70 on: July 06, 2009, 05:43:41 AM »
Quote
Why do you take so many samples on the same position?

Its not sampling the same place. its actually panning left to right then tilting down a bit then panning left to right then tilting down. Its to provide a 3D scan rather than just a 2D linear scan

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #71 on: July 06, 2009, 06:36:53 AM »
paulstreats is correct.


But anyway, this was only a test for a more advanced algorithm. Ideally ERP won't stop moving, and the scanning will be continuous. 3D scanning is slow, so it'll only occasionally do broad sweeps, then focus only on close objects for high accuracy scans. Its a bit tricky to create 3D maps as the robot is moving! I also need to figure out nicer ways to store and reuse old mapped scans.

Also, currently it scans only from left to right. I was too lazy to have it scan from right to left (during the return motion). That'll be for the next upgrade!

I think I'm going to add GPS on ERP soon. I found a rooftop parking lot with few cars perfect for it :)

Offline Tsukubadaisei

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • Helpful? 0
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #72 on: July 06, 2009, 07:42:19 AM »
I see thanks. Really smart approach for 3d scanning. Good luck!
A.I.(yes those are my initials)

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #73 on: July 20, 2009, 08:57:59 PM »
Hows for a little instructional vid? ;D


Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #74 on: July 20, 2009, 09:30:30 PM »
great video admin! i take it that isn't the order that you used to put it together?
will you be posting an assembly video?
« Last Edit: July 20, 2009, 09:33:47 PM by SmAsH »
Howdy

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #75 on: July 21, 2009, 04:05:26 AM »
brilliant video admin, how long did it take.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #76 on: August 04, 2009, 07:03:32 PM »
I call my new artwork, 'Wall-ERP'  ;D



And two more less exciting ones here:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_ERP.shtml#photorealistic

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #77 on: August 05, 2009, 01:32:37 AM »
what the...
where is erp supposed to be? space?
Howdy

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #78 on: August 05, 2009, 06:18:00 AM »
I think this will clear things up. Somebody isn't a Wall-E fan and therefore a traitor! :P

http://www.cinemaisdope.com/news/films/walle/walle.jpg





edit: That site banned images being shown on other websites, so follow the link instead . . .
« Last Edit: September 20, 2009, 07:56:23 AM by Admin »

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #79 on: August 05, 2009, 06:22:05 AM »
Nice admin :D  I love wall-e.   Did you photoshop the background?

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #80 on: August 05, 2009, 07:00:11 AM »
Nice admin :D  I love wall-e.   Did you photoshop the background?

Nope, I simply set it as my CAD background image in Inventor. If you look carefully, you'll see Wall-E hidden behind ERP.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #81 on: August 05, 2009, 03:14:44 PM »
ahh, is that a track set behind erp's right wheel?
unfortunately i have never seen the movie, i was hoping to once... but it was sold out... and i never got around to it...
Howdy

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #82 on: August 06, 2009, 01:23:22 AM »
nice one admin, if you did not tell us we would not have seen it ;D

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #83 on: September 20, 2009, 08:06:05 AM »
Another RoboGames 2009 video, with ERP making friends. Unlike what you see in the video, most children decided that grabbing ERP, jumping over him, driving other robots into him, or attempting to remove the camera were all good ideas.

One mother decided to let her 1 year old chase it for 10 minutes . . . ERP was just slightly faster . . .

luckily I had replacement servo parts when it got run over . . . anyway, enjoy the vid!

ERP Robot Makes Friends

Offline MangoBot

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
  • Helpful? 1
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #84 on: September 20, 2009, 09:49:57 AM »
good idea, it would be cool to add a little carpet monkey to it

Offline izaktj

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #85 on: September 22, 2009, 06:06:49 PM »
Good stuff
Vids like those are really motivating

Offline kpmcgurk

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #86 on: September 27, 2009, 11:16:36 AM »
I just saw a picture of ERP in Robot Mag! Great job admin!
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #87 on: September 27, 2009, 12:21:23 PM »
I just saw a picture of ERP in Robot Mag! Great job admin!
yea, Ro-Bot-X had told me a few days ago . . . can anyone post a pic of it here? I don't have a subscription . . .

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #88 on: September 27, 2009, 07:28:34 PM »
I just saw a picture of ERP in Robot Mag! Great job admin!
yea, Ro-Bot-X had told me a few days ago . . . can anyone post a pic of it here? I don't have a subscription . . .

Robot Magazine, issue Nov/Dec 2009, page 75, article about RoboGames 2009.

Here is a pic of the page (had to resize the pic a bit...):
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: CAD of my newest robot
« Reply #89 on: October 24, 2009, 08:09:41 PM »
Lem from robots-dreams came over to check out ERP during RoboGames '09, so I gave him a demo. You'll see ERP grabbing/throwing stuff, and trying not to drive off the table. About 5% of the time he would, so not perfect yet!

Society of Robots: Experimental Robot Platform



I plan to redo the ERP software 100% to make it WebbotLib compatible probably late December. Plus, I have a bunch of videos that I haven't uploaded yet with ERP doing more tricks . . .

 


Get Your Ad Here