go_away

Author Topic: Problems with ic power supply in Eagle  (Read 3600 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline autooTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Problems with ic power supply in Eagle
« on: February 19, 2011, 03:40:40 PM »
Hi,

As newbie, I encountered a problem, I don't know how to solve.

I use 3 ic's 2x 7404 and 1x 74LS08

During the routing these 3 IC are connected together by Vss and ground. But the ground isn't connected to the ground of the system. Also the Vss pins aren't connected to the powersupply, a 7805.
I assume I have to "tell" eagle to make these connections, but I can't figure it out how to do this.
 
Does someone know?
Thanks


Offline rbtying

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 452
  • Helpful? 31
Re: Problems with ic power supply in Eagle
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 02:42:37 AM »
You need to connect the ground pins to a "Ground" power supply symbol (or you can cheat and just use a wire labelled "GND").  Pins won't automatically connect themselves - you will need to connect the pins in the schematic.

Offline autooTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems with ic power supply in Eagle
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 05:00:49 AM »
Thanks

I used a gnd symbol to make a ground.
I don't know how to connect the groundpin of these IC's with ground in the schematic. Those pins, 7 and 14 aren't displayed.
Manually connect them with Vss or ground in the board is possible but a lot of work because of the position of those wires.
 

Offline rbtying

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 452
  • Helpful? 31
Re: Problems with ic power supply in Eagle
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 11:44:24 AM »
You need to manually connect them =). 

Eagle will automatically connect all wires with the same name - what I usually do is make really short wires connected to the IC, and name them "GND" or "Vcc" (for example).  Then, I connect the GND pin of the regulator or power source with the another wire named "GND", and they will be considered connected.  In the board design, they will have a wire drawn between them.

Offline autooTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems with ic power supply in Eagle
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 02:57:38 PM »
Thanks for the tip!

This is just I needed.
With name you can give the wanted names. These names are found in the add screen in one of the windows.

 


Get Your Ad Here