Author Topic: Axon And A Motorcontroller  (Read 1641 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Axon And A Motorcontroller
« on: February 25, 2011, 08:34:26 PM »
Question Dose the Axon or Axon 2 need a motorcontroller? If so what would you recommend and the cheapest possible?

Thanks

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 09:26:26 PM »
No the Axon MCUs don't have motor controllers,
we generally recommend the Sabre-tooth from Dimension Engineering $59+ P&H.
But there are cheaper ones, check the adds on the side of this page.

Also search the Robot Parts List for Motor Drivers:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_parts_list.shtml
  
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 09:28:29 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 09:46:57 PM »

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 10:13:26 PM »
Will this work with it?

http://www.robotshop.com/vex-dc-motor-controller-29-5.html


I've never used that and I'm not sure how you'd wire it but it should work.
My guess is that you apply power to the red & black wires, and PWM the white wire from an I/O pin on the Axon

You might like these tutorials:

DC motors:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/actuators_dcmotors.shtml

Micro controllers:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/microcontroller_tutorial.shtml

H-Bridges/motor divers:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/schematics_h-bridgedes.shtml

PWM:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/228


Also if your robot isn't that big you can use servos:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/actuators_servos.shtml
Servos plug straight into the Axon
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 10:15:38 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2011, 10:18:50 PM »
You need to select a motor, to know voltage and current, before you select a motor controller. :D

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2011, 04:56:20 PM »
All i Know is its a 12 volt motor.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2011, 05:08:58 PM »
These are the motor drivers I typically use:
http://dimensionengineering.com/

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2011, 05:24:55 PM »
I see this one http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC.htm but on the end what dose the s mean by the male prong?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2011, 06:03:17 PM »
I see this one http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC.htm but on the end what dose the s mean by the male prong?

thats not a motor driver . . . see the list at the top left of that site :P

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2011, 04:02:27 PM »
I saw this one on robotshop.com http://www.robotshop.com/solarbotics-l298-motor-driver-kit-2.html
I think this will work but three questions. One it says its for brushed motors like the sabertooth controller dose it matter which motor you hook it two and if so how do you tell if it has brushed or brushless motors? Second what pins on the axon would this connect to? Third how would you begin to program this controller with the axon?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2011, 04:26:20 PM »
Note that it says 2A. Does your motor exceed 2A?


You program the Axon with WebbotLib Project Designer. It'll tell you what pins to use.

If the motor doesn't say 'brushless', then it is brushed. Brushed motors only have two wires, while brushless will have three. Brushless motors are much more expensive.

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2011, 08:58:26 PM »
ok well that solves the brushed or brushless question. When using webbotlib what would i select for this motorcontroller im not very familiar with using sorry.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2011, 09:13:10 PM »
ok well that solves the brushed or brushless question. When using webbotlib what would i select for this motorcontroller im not very familiar with using sorry.
It'll be very obvious. Just load up Project Designer, and it shouldn't take you more than 15 seconds to figure it out - it's that easy :P

Offline KylepowersTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2011, 09:23:02 PM »
I get the basics but under actuators what do i select for the motor driver or dose it not matter so much?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon And A Motorcontroller
« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2011, 09:46:43 PM »
I get the basics but under actuators what do i select for the motor driver or dose it not matter so much?
If you are going to use the Solarbotics L298 driver, then you select the Solarbotics L298 driver from the list. Couldn't be simpler :P

 


Get Your Ad Here