Author Topic: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed  (Read 1249 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« on: March 25, 2011, 10:02:56 AM »
okee dokee.

I was able to upload the hold_servo and midify them with no problem.
I finally was able to get everything together and make a successful buil with the Sharp IR program.

Can't enter the programming mode (that's what AVR studio4 says).
I used a AVR ISP Mk2 with AT mega 8 (6 pin wiring)

I even tried ponyprog... even bigger fail (can't find port)

The sensor is mounted, all's ready to go... and failure keeps showing up. I even asked a friend who teached computer sci to help and , he's stumped.

WHAT DO I DO NOW ????

Offline Conscripted

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • Helpful? 10
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 01:14:10 PM »
Did you change any of the FUSE settings last time you were able to program the micro correctly?

Conscripted

Offline joe61

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 417
  • Helpful? 16
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 02:12:15 PM »

The sensor is mounted, all's ready to go... and failure keeps showing up. I even asked a friend who teached computer sci to help and , he's stumped.

WHAT DO I DO NOW ????

Is the sensor maybe connected to one of the pins needed by the programmer?

Joe

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 03:19:21 PM »
the IR sensor is in the 3rd position in the sensor plugs...

What are the fuses? Under wich menu (path)?

Yann

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2011, 06:41:51 AM »
Thanks all for your input.

ok... I did "something".

I went en checked the Fuses... the list is mostly unchecked... here is how it reads for the rest :

SPIEN    checked and there is a red question mark in the lower right corner of the checkbox

BOOTSZ   bootflash size - 1024 words boot adress = $0C00

BODLEVEL   brown-out detection at VCC = 2.7v

SUT_CKSEL    Int Rc  0sc  1MHz ; start up time ?ck + 64ms ; default value.


Then i went into the main menu and recalled posts about the signature. The box was empty so I clicked the read the signature. box filled with "OxDF OxDB Ox4F" and below it it says warning that signature doesn't match the selected device.

I'm using the lates AVR studio downloaded from Atmel with brand new (bought last sept) ISP Mk 2 programmer

The ISP mode is on but it's the onl;y thing in that menu and frequency is at 125.0 Khz


I tried to programm... entering programming mode was solved  BUT

"PROGRAMMING FLASH FAILED".  :( >:( :'( :'( :'( :'(

any ideas? I'm soooo close I can hear those servos wirring !!!!  Please help.


 
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 10:16:19 AM by rabadswompe »

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2011, 05:03:57 PM »
getting there!!! woo hooo!!!!! ;D

I swapped the 9v battery and tried a read signature. it recognized!

I then programmed...everything was ok...

but nothing moves! the IR's servo isn't goind left and right, wheels aren't spinning... arrrrggg!

I will refresh the 4 x AA batteries...just in case.

ideas? please !

Yann

Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
50$ robot IR mod is alive but doesn't scan...help!
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 02:11:02 PM »
It's ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D
changing to true fresh batteries did the trick (they seem to drain really fast!... but then again it's a cheap brand of AA's and 9v...serves me right!) It first it was going backwards so I switched the servos' plugs and now it seems ok...

but (there always is a but)

it doesn't go through a scanning mode before moving... so it spins in a slow circle, the scanner's servo going a feeble left-right movement, There are sometimes a bit of "moving forward" but  it's generaly going roud and round and round.

but it's alive!!!!

I'll post a movie of it tomorrow.

Any clues as to what is happening? It's a bit like in admin's blooper at the end of the sharp IR mod video.


Offline rabadswompeTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot - entering programming mode failed
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2011, 04:33:59 PM »
all's resolved!  ;D

 


Get Your Ad Here