Author Topic: Need help building a robot car  (Read 1789 times)

Offline rahulpwnsTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Need help building a robot car
« on: September 08, 2011, 08:01:15 PM »
hey guys,
i am new to robotics (this will be my first real robot) and i am planning on building a robot car.
i do not want to spend more than $200 on this project.
basically, this robot will be a 4 wheeled car that will be able to detect cars in front of it and change lanes and overtake that car.
it will operate on it's own ans will start to work as soon as i turn it on.
i would also like the robot to be able to turn left and right. i would also like it to be able to accelerate to different speeds.
i will be running parallel processes (the car will have multiple commands to complete at the same time).
what is the best micro controller for this project (i will want it to be able to control 3 servo motors, and 5 infrared sensors.)?
what are some good wheels that i can use for this project (i am looking for something under $3 per wheel, but would like them to be rubber)?
thanks,

Rahul

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Need help building a robot car
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 01:09:00 AM »
i am new to robotics (this will be my first real robot) and i am planning on building a robot car.
I hope You are talking about the toy car and NOT the real one  ;D

basically, this robot will be a 4 wheeled car that will be able to detect cars in front of it and change lanes and overtake that car.
For detection I believe You need combination of IR Sensors and Ultrasonic ones. For lane changing You need modified line following circuit (set up) and distinctive lines on the road (path of your car).

i would also like the robot to be able to turn left and right.
For that You need car steering system as found in real life cars as differential steering would likely not suite Your needs.

i would also like it to be able to accelerate to different speeds.