Author Topic: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)  (Read 1214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« on: September 29, 2011, 01:46:19 PM »
Hi, I'm not sure this is the right forum to post this in, but I want to order the Axon II Microcontroller, but I just learned that the engineer (who is the SOR admin and main proprieter of Axon II) is in Thailand.

Can I still order one? Or do I have to wait for him to be back in the US? Im not sure if he personally ships them, or he has a company shipping them...

Thank you!

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 02:37:33 PM »
Hi,

Drop him a PM or an email (or both), but just don't expect an immediate answer.

Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 742
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 04:49:55 PM »
If you're really in a hurry though, he does sell them via other online robot stores.
I

Offline Sylvestre

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
  • Helpful? 13
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2011, 05:32:37 PM »
I think this topic would better be fitted if it was in the miscellaneous section.   ;)

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2011, 05:38:40 PM »
Yesh I am gonna be using it for a class project. I was just approved for school funding...so im ready to buy now. What are the other sites I can buy them from??

Oh and the forum description mentions "materials" so I figure this one would do..

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2011, 11:15:07 PM »
Ok so I checked out all the sites that the Axon II is sold on...and it seems they are all waiting on stock...one said Oct 21st...so...can the Arduino do the same thing? Can I use the same code I compiled fo the Axon? and the VrBot voice recognition module?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: AXON II (FOR ADMIN)
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2011, 09:23:37 AM »
I just learned that the engineer (who is the SOR admin and main proprieter of Axon II) is in Thailand.

Hmmmm when you made that post, I was in Shenzhen, China. But now I'm in Thailand :P

But yea, you got my email already, so just posting this for everyone else. The Axon is still for sale, and I have someone in the US to send orders out.

Quote
can the Arduino do the same thing?

The Axon is like the Arduino, but with 4x the quantity of features. And the Axon is easier to hook up to stuff, smaller, etc. If you search the forum, this question has been asked often (worth looking up for more detailed differences/opinions) :P

Quote
Can I use the same code I compiled fo the Axon?

What same code? Anything compiled must be compiled for the ATmega640 for it to work.

Quote
and the VrBot voice recognition module?

Yea, that will work with any mcu that has a UART.

Quote
What are the other sites I can buy them from?

http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_dealers.shtml

 


Get Your Ad Here