Author Topic: $50 Robot  (Read 921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BobbTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
$50 Robot
« on: September 30, 2011, 02:46:16 PM »
Hello, Society of robots

Got my bits through today for the $50 Robot  ;D, i'm in the uk and used rapidonline as my source. . . Just one problem, the '28 pin DIP socket' in the parts list was discontinued, I ordered what I thought to be an equivalent. (order code 22-1719, if you'd like to see)

The socket that turned up wont take the ATmega8 that i have, its far too wide.

So, my question to you is; Can I take out the plastic bridge and use it as two sockets or just shorten the bridge?


Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 05:45:02 PM »
As long as the pin spacings are the same, ya, you can just cut it into two pieces... Good luck :)
I

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 11:01:57 PM »
Hi,

Sure, it's standard 1/10" module, just cut the 3 middle "bars" out and solder each "side" at the right distance apart. Don't cut too close to the contacts if you use a side cutter, or you risk damaging it.
If appearance matters, use a metal file after cutting.

They must have had some sleepy dork taking your order. Not only was it a wide socket ordered with a narrow chip, but it's the most expensive type you got (not counting test sockets) - a wire wrap, tulip contact, socket.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2011, 10:56:31 AM »
Given you are in the UK then try Maplin http://www.maplin.co.uk/dual-in-line-sockets-2530
Not the cheapest but at least they lots of high street shops so you may have one locally.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline shamikrudra

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2011, 10:10:46 AM »
You can use two 14 pin ic base one after another.

Offline BobbTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2011, 03:50:02 AM »
Thanks for the input people, much appreciated. I checked out my local(ish) maplin and picked up the right socket, but have struggled to find an ATAVRISP2 that I don't have to get shipped to the UK.

I was suggested http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/microcontroller-processor/7055111/ as an alternative.

Given my track record now has a socket twice as wide as my chip and enough resistors to build a really short fence around my house. I was wondering if any of you nice people could vouch for that programmer working in the '$50 Robot tutorial' BEFORE I get it? ;D

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: $50 Robot
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 02:32:54 PM »
Hi,

Plenty on eBay
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

 


Get Your Ad Here