go_away

Author Topic: Controlling a robot over the internet  (Read 5262 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Controlling a robot over the internet
« on: July 07, 2007, 07:48:48 PM »
For controlling my robot over the internet I thought about having a laptop with the visual basic program to directly control the robot. Then a second computer with remote assistance turned on can control the laptop remotely over the internet. The program on the laptop controls the robot directly through the USB port. I want to be able to run that program on the laptop form anywhere in the world. Is this possible to do? Is there an easier way to do this?
,Eric
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline KambeiX

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 09:17:05 PM »
There are ethernet cards and wi-fi cards that can interface directly to a microcontroller, and are smaller and cheaper than a laptop.

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2007, 04:01:31 AM »
hi airman00 ,
the method you are describing would work but there are far prettier solutions.
look at my post here http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=538.0 to see how i did this.

dunk.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2007, 05:52:06 AM »
Yes, but I want my robot to have a touchscreen and internet connection. Sorry I forgot to add the part of the screen. plus I will be using a USB webcam and other USB devices. i just wanted to know if my idea about using Remote Assistance was possible. The laptop would be the easiest to do to have a big screen and touchscreen( Just put a touchscreen overlay on the screen)
Thanks
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2007, 06:00:55 AM »
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2007, 06:09:22 AM »
I don't know much about this but if you are very serios you can go to https://www.gotomypc.com/en_US/entry.tmpl?_sid=219550496%3AF9EB28445581123&Action=rgoto&_sf=2 and subscribe this program allows you to connect to your computer over the internet then you can get a free programme around to connect from your computer to your robot so when you log to your computer from the internet you can open this program an connect to you robot then you can go to like MSN and set up a camera from your computer seeing your robot so you can control your robot and at the same time see it running.  :)
I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2007, 06:13:05 AM »
Actually if my webcam is connected to the laptop all i would need to do is open the webcam program and the interface program from a distant laptop. Then since I would be seeing and controlling the laptop as if I was actually there typing into it, I could get video feed and control the robot remotely. Plus, Remote Assistance is free with remote assistance.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2007, 06:15:04 AM »
That also a way of doing it.
I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2007, 06:15:36 AM »
Oops I typed things twice and a little bit confusing.
My point: If I use remote assistance I could open the webcam program and the controlling program on the laptop from any computer in the world and I would be able to see the screen on the laptop as if I was there actually typing on it.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2007, 06:17:14 AM »
OK now i get it.  :)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2007, 06:31:17 AM by robotvisionary »
I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2007, 06:19:06 AM »
wouldn't it be better to run a web server on the laptop on the robot so you can operate it from any computer with a web browser rather than needing a 2nd laptop?

dunk.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2007, 06:21:17 AM »
What do you mean. I have one laptop on the robot with a touchscreen and the interface. (and wireless connection) Then I have a second computer with internet access which controls the laptop using Remote Assistance. I cant do another way without sacrificing the touchscreen feature, I think.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2007, 06:24:36 AM »
What do you mean. I have one laptop on the robot with a touchscreen and the interface. (and wireless connection) Then I have a second computer with internet access which controls the laptop using Remote Assistance. I cant do another way without sacrificing the touchscreen feature, I think.


I think you right. Try my method on the trial version What is the worst that can happen?

I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2007, 06:26:17 AM »
Thank You All, youve been a great help.

Ill post some pics on my website, if i ever have time to update it.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RobotBuilder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
  • Become one with the robot
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2007, 06:45:44 AM »
wouldn't it be better to run a web server on the laptop on the robot so you can operate it from any computer with a web browser rather than needing a 2nd laptop?

dunk.

This is what I do in the darpa garnd challenge.
Contact me on:
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

"Dont die for you country give your enemy a chance to die for his"

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2007, 06:54:12 AM »
 ??? What you mean RobotBuilder? ???
I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline RobotBuilder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
  • Become one with the robot
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2007, 07:22:48 AM »
Have you neve heard of the darpa grand challenge
Contact me on:
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

"Dont die for you country give your enemy a chance to die for his"

Offline robotvisionary

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Helpful? 0
  • Lucky I wasn't that driver.
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2007, 08:06:58 AM »
No Its not that is just that i cant undersatand your spelling and pleas include a little in on the challenge. 
I've have not failed, I've just found out 2,000 how a light bulb will not work

                              Thomas Edision.
[youtube]59xcT1dstq4[/youtube]

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2007, 11:44:56 AM »
Quote
What do you mean. I have one laptop on the robot with a touchscreen and the interface. (and wireless connection) Then I have a second computer with internet access which controls the laptop using Remote Assistance. I cant do another way without sacrificing the touchscreen feature, I think.
so let me check i'm understanding the touch screen part,
the touch screen just works like a mouse right?
where ever you touch the screen operates as a mouse click right?

so the touch screen doesn't really complicate things at all.

i was suggesting you controll the robot from a webserver running on the laptop on the robot.
you can run a web browser on that robot allowing you to to controll the bot locally using the touch screen.
you can also run a web browser on any other computer and controll it from there.

dunk.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Controlling a robot over the internet
« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2007, 06:57:20 PM »
My problem with the web browser is I have NO IDEA where to start.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Control Robot Through Web Browser
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2007, 04:34:21 AM »
How can I control a robot through a web browser. I have NO IDEA where to start.
Right now the robot runs using a visual basic program and a interface kit between a computer and the robot.
Please help me.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Control Robot Through Web Browser
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2007, 04:38:33 AM »
I researched this web server thing and it is not what I want. Let me tell you what I think a web server does. It acts like a microcontroller which is controlled online. I want the processor to be a laptop cuz otherwise my voice recognition and the touchscreen wont work. Please tell me if I'm mistaken.
,Eric
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline suren

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control Robot Through Web Browser
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2007, 07:48:30 AM »
Hi dude,
http://www.roborealm.com/help/WebServer.php
it might be of help to you ..this can transmit images from the camera mounted on a robot over a TCP network..
then i think u can build a ASP page trigerring a VC++ module to run ur motors or to control anything..

Offline suren

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Helpful? 0

 


Get Your Ad Here