2

Author Topic: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)  (Read 1208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« on: November 08, 2011, 12:13:11 PM »
This is specifically regarding the Voice Controlled Robot instructible built by the SOR Admin. Hopefully it's my final query on the topic lol  ;D

So I have uploaded the Axon II demo hex file to the Axon provided by Admin via the hardware programmer. Also was able to upload the provided demo VR module program via the FTDI board.

Now, my question is, will I be able to operate this robot (the way it is in the instuctible video) with the programs I have uploaded now? Or am I required to add more to the VR Commander and Project Designer?

All I want to do is run the servos forward, back, right, left and be able to switch between English and Thai, like in the video. I didnt see anything in the initial VR Commander list that pertained to the Thai language...

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2011, 02:01:24 AM »
I don't quite understand your question . . .

When you program your voice commands in, you'll notice how they are in a particular order. If you look at the source code, you'll see how everything matches up.

You really can use any voice command of any language you want. You can then modify and recompile the source code for more fancy commands, if you want. I commented everything as best I could to make it easy to understand and reverse engineer.

As for Thai . . . well, it's a tonal language. The VRbot software is unable to recognize tonal fluctuations of the voice, nor can it recognize all of the phonemes of Thai. As such, I had to carefully choose a certain vocabulary set that it's English processor can identify and not get confused.

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2011, 10:55:54 AM »
When I initially uploaded the VR Commander software, it came with a bunch of defaults (like Word set 6: left, right, forward,  backward)...so I was asking if these were the proper commands specific to the program you wrote for the robot. Or do I have to make my own?


Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2011, 10:59:09 AM »
I deleted all the defaults and then made my own. Just match them up as I have in the source code.

Offline michealcollinsTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2011, 11:38:24 AM »
aaaah....ok cool...that's probably why its not working. Thanks again!

Offline hoosier122

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2011, 10:49:01 PM »
I don't quite understand your question . . .

When you program your voice commands in, you'll notice how they are in a particular order. If you look at the source code, you'll see how everything matches up.

You really can use any voice command of any language you want. You can then modify and recompile the source code for more fancy commands, if you want. I commented everything as best I could to make it easy to understand and reverse engineer.

As for Thai . . . well, it's a tonal language. The VRbot software is unable to recognize tonal fluctuations of the voice, nor can it recognize all of the phonemes of Thai. As such, I had to carefully choose a certain vocabulary set that it's English processor can identify and not get confused.
Japanese is also tonal, right? I believe that's how verbs are conjugated in Japanese.

The point being, that I'm sure given Japan's aptitude for electronics, there is a way to handle tonal languages.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Voice Controlled Robot Program (for Admin)
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2011, 11:35:16 PM »
Japanese is also tonal, right? I believe that's how verbs are conjugated in Japanese.
Nope, Japanese is not a tonal language . . . at least no more than English is.

 


Get Your Ad Here