go_away

Author Topic: Some questions regarding LiPo Batteries  (Read 1255 times)

Offline VexeliusTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Some questions regarding LiPo Batteries
« on: November 23, 2011, 07:28:53 PM »
Hello, everyone!

It's my first time posting in this forum, though I have lurked the website for a very long time and it has helped me a lot in the past.

So... I decided it was time to register. For my first post, I have some questions regarding LiPo Batteries. It's my first time using them as the power supply of a robot, and I want to "play safe". (Especially after watching some videos of exploding batteries)

In the picture above, you can see the battery that I'll be using, as well as its balance charger. I haven't tested them yet, as I'm having some trouble locating a 12V, 1.5A power supply but I'll get one tomorrow morning.

Question #1: Should I have any special caution to attach them to my robot chassis? So far, I have used adhesive tape to attach my battery packs, but I want to know if I can do the same with these.

Question #2: I have never seen a plug like this one. How can I connect it to my circuit board? From what I have read, the "pin friendly" connector should only be used to charge the battery, and the long ones are the ones that power the RC model.

Question #3: Should I use a special circuit with this kind of battery? Usually, I design a "Power module" when working with 9V/AA batteries, with a couple of inductors, a 7805 and some capacitors. I don't know if I can do the same with LiPo batteries, or if I need some additional components.

Thank you very much in advance. Any additional words of caution or suggestions will be appreciated.

« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 07:34:15 PM by Vexelius »

Offline rbtying

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 31
Re: Some questions regarding LiPo Batteries
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 08:03:23 PM »