Author Topic: avr studio - gcc pugin error  (Read 3817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline likhinTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
avr studio - gcc pugin error
« on: December 16, 2011, 09:41:45 AM »
I get the following error when I click on 'Build' or 'Build All' :


gcc plug-in: No AVR Toolchain installation found. The AVR GCC plug-in can still be used if you set up your own build tools.

I tried closing the window and starting a fresh project but I get the same error  :(

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2011, 10:14:45 AM »
Did you install WinAVR yet?

What program are you trying to compile?

Offline likhinTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2011, 11:40:27 AM »
yeah i did install winavr...  I'm trying the 50$ robot...

also.. I've got another question...

where I live, servo motors aren't available, so can I use dc motors?? if yes, do I need to change the source code?? If not.... well, alas :/

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,121
  • Helpful? 108
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2011, 01:32:21 PM »
Did you install WinAVR before installing AVR Studio?

It may be easiest to uninstall both and then re-install both (WinAVR first).
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2011, 12:55:36 AM »
where I live, servo motors aren't available, so can I use dc motors?? if yes, do I need to change the source code?? If not.... well, alas :/

A common question . . .
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_faq.shtml#servo_motor

To use a motor instead of a servo, you need to buy a motor driver. WebbotLib has code to use motor drivers, so it's easy either way.

Offline likhinTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2011, 06:09:25 AM »
Will an ESC work? I'll have to check if they're available...
Is a tutorial on connecting the ESC??

PS: I tried reinstalling WinAVR... works!!  ;D  Thanks!!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: avr studio - gcc pugin error
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2011, 08:12:58 AM »
Will an ESC work? I'll have to check if they're available...
Is a tutorial on connecting the ESC??
An ESC is a motor driver that takes servo signals. You plug in ground, power, and the signal on one end, and the two motor wires on the other. The instructions for your ESC will tell you more clearly how to do it. With an ESC, you can treat a motor like a normal modified servo.

 


Get Your Ad Here