go_away

Author Topic: The 50$ robot micro-controller.  (Read 619 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Silver_79Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful? 0
The 50$ robot micro-controller.
« on: December 21, 2011, 02:36:50 PM »
      I have tried to get the 50$ robot micro-controller to work now for weeks I can't get past the point where both UI's (Linux & Windows 64 bit) tell me the lil piece of crap can't connect to program. It passes the smoke test fine and AVR Studios 5 reads the 5.1V but no device ID. The one I built, like in the tutorial, and the breadboard version I made both do this. I am using the avrispmkII and it says 2 green lights are go lets do this. Then when I try to upload anything or tell the programmer to read the device it fails or when I tell it to read fuses and such it fails. The only thing it does is sets the ISP freq. to 250 kHz and read the voltage level. I so like hardware oriented CPU's like the 6800 family processors. What happened to those and why do we have these pieces of crap that can't do anything without me being a C programmer ? Ok, ok so I am a little bit tired, does the 328p need a separate boot loader when used on the 50$ micro-controller since there is no ext oscillator ?  I am going to breadboard a diff chip up and see if I can get one to do anything but sit there and mock me.

Take Care,
Don
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Lee Frost-

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: The 50$ robot micro-controller.
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 05:47:04 PM »
Have  you tried AVR Studio 4? I want to say I've heard this to be a problem in the past (using v5, I mean), but couldn't find such a thread just now.

-Gert
I

Offline Silver_79Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Helpful? 0
Re: The 50$ robot micro-controller.
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 07:26:57 PM »
      Yeah I tried AVR Studios 4 twice , 5 twice also tried Linux's avrdude and Audrino suite software with no luck.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Lee Frost-

Offline adanvasco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 6
  • Necessity is the mother of invention.
Re: The 50$ robot micro-controller.
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 07:08:51 PM »
You should double check all your connections and solder points as well.
Knowledge does not weigh.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: The 50$ robot micro-controller.
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 12:19:37 PM »
Try reducing the speed of the AVRISP MKII. Seem to remember that its max speed is about one eighth of the CPU speed. For the $50 robot the default clock speed is 1MHz. So try dropping the ISP fequency down.

Quote
does the 328p need a separate boot loader when used on the 50$ micro-controller since there is no ext oscillator
Nope, you can still use the AVRISP.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

 


Get Your Ad Here