2

Author Topic: Modifying the servo  (Read 5653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Modifying the servo
« on: July 09, 2007, 10:38:22 PM »
For the servo what do you mean by supergluing the pot. What do you glue it to? the main gear? Or do you fill up the whole space around it with superglue so it stays in place?

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Modifying the servo
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2007, 10:42:08 PM »
You said to put the pot to 0 degrees with controller. Then you said to rotate the pot.  ??? Until the gears stop moving? I don't get that. Weren't you supposed to take off all the gears? How do you rotate the pot? With your hands? It's really greasy. And also could you explain how you make the controller work?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 07:19:57 PM »
So I rotate the pot either with my hands or tweezers (I dont have steady hands).

Then you just glue it in place, so basically around the part that rotates.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2007, 03:30:05 AM »
If im not mistaken, you remove the limiter on the gears and then send a command to your servo that sets it to zero. If the servo continues to spin despite the zero command, rotate the potentiometer in whichever direction until the servo stops moving completely. Then hot glue the pot so it doesn't decalibrate itself


am I right?
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2007, 12:09:14 PM »
Quote
am I right?
yeap!

Offline rox2007

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2008, 02:15:17 PM »
i tried doing the same thing but i cant seem to get my gears to stop. HELP! pls

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2008, 02:25:36 PM »
i tried doing the same thing but i cant seem to get my gears to stop. HELP! pls

are you giving it the correct pulse , and did you set your oscillator setting correctly?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline rox2007

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2008, 02:27:43 PM »
I sent a 1.5ms pulse  using my atmega 168 running a 8mhz internal clock but it just keeps rotating

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2008, 09:05:57 PM »
the pots are very very sensitive, try barely even touching the thing at all to see if that helps at all
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline rox2007

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2008, 10:54:19 AM »
done it, it helped

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2008, 01:01:33 PM »
are you using the $50 robot? use Admins code. mine were very sensitive also, there is a point where if you turn the pot too far the servo will spin the other way.
Robots are awesome!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Modifying the servo
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2008, 09:34:45 PM »
Glad I could help :D
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

 


Get Your Ad Here