go_away

Author Topic: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek  (Read 4597 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« on: December 25, 2011, 11:20:15 PM »
hi guys....
i just wanted to know .......
1)where the push buttons are connected .
2)what is the meaning of IC1 in the figure
3)there are 7 pins at the bottom of the board(just below the ATmeag16 IC),nothing is mentioned about them....so what must be connected to them!
link is http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/book/export/html/350
I'll be really grateful to u... pls help me out of this situation.

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 12:29:44 AM »
1)where the push buttons are connected .
PD2 (INT0)pin 16, PD3(INT1) pin 17 & PB2(INT2) pin 3

2)what is the meaning of IC1 in the figure
LM7805 - 5V Positive Regulator


3)there are 7 pins at the bottom of the board(just below the ATmeag16 IC),nothing is mentioned about them....so what must be connected to them!
Look at the photo, it connected to 2 resistors and preset resistor and link to pin 1 of the LCD connector may be for back lights control.


Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 02:59:00 AM »
to billhowl
sir....
1)got to know where to connect the push buttons... now,regarding the connections....the push buttons have 4 pins(the place of their connection has 4 female headers i.e., PD2,PD3,PB2 n GND).SO in order to connect 3 push buttons,is it that,we need to short one side pins of each of push buttons and connect them to PD2,PD3 n PB2 respectively.... and again short the other side pins of the push buttons and connect all of them to the GND????

2)sir,in the figure he has mentioned about the status LED n there r 3 pins for its connection.As far as my knowledge goes the LED has only 2 pins... so how to connect .

3)sir,at the left bottom corner of the figure, there r 3 pins in triangular fashion.... what we should connect there.

4)And finally SIR,u told to connect 2 resistors and a preset resistor(at the bottom 7 pins),if so...what r their values...n i have connected them in the following manner...
   a)i have the PRESET resistor ....connected to the left 3 holes (which looks as a mirror image of L)
   b)one resistor a have connected to other 2 holes (vertical) appearing just besides mirror imaged L
   c)the other resistor is connected horizontally in the next 2 horizontally appearing holes.....

are the connections right..... if not pls tell me how to connect!

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 08:14:37 AM »
1. Yes, one side of the switch connect each of the pins, the other side of the 3 switches short together and connect to Gnd.
2. The status LED is a bi-colored LED like this one in picture, so have three pins, you need to get common cathode.


for Q3 and Q4, I have attach a picture to show the connection, for the resistors values I give some guesstimate values, please check the datasheet of the LCD to see if a resistor is required.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2011, 08:56:13 AM »
to billhowl......
thanks u sir for your guidance......it has helped me a lot!!

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2011, 09:01:07 AM »
You are most welcome :)
then click on the helpful button :D

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2011, 09:13:46 AM »
to billhowl,
sir...
please dont mind if I interrupt u in the future asking for help!!

THANKS ONCE AGAIN!

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2011, 12:23:48 PM »
to billhowl..
sir i had a query regarding LCD interfacing...
1)where the pin15(LED+) and pin16(LED-) of the LCD module should be connected.

2)where the pin3(contrast adjust) of the LCD module should be connected.

3)where the 1st pin of LCD connector (which is present on our main circuit) must be connected.

4)is the image below correct
   

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2011, 06:12:26 PM »
1) This is the backlight I refer to, connect pin 15 to pin 1 of LCD connector, pin 16 to GND.
2) pin 3 is to be connected to 10K ohms preset at the LCD power connector mid pin.
3) see ans 1)
4) yes, is correct.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2011, 09:58:03 PM »
sir.... this is regarding sensor connections...

1) outputs from the sensor array, i have taken from, pin 8,7,1 n 14 of both the comparators(LM324)  ,thereby constituting 8 outputs.

2) pin2,6,9,13 of both the comparators (LM324) are shorted.BUT nothing is connected to them.... is it that we need to connect something there?

3) two pins just below the comparator (i have highlighted them).... what must be connected there?

4)the preset (i have highlighted it) ... doesnt have all the 3 of it pins connected.

5) how to supply power to the sensor array?


 


Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2011, 10:02:41 PM »
ALSO SIR, the figure below has more than 8 output wires taken from the sensor array...what r those wires and to where they are connected on the sensor array as well as on the main board?

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2011, 04:02:37 AM »
1) outputs from the sensor array, i have taken from, pin 8,7,1 n 14 of both the comparators(LM324)  ,thereby constituting 8 outputs.
Correct
2) pin2,6,9,13 of both the comparators (LM324) are shorted.BUT nothing is connected to them.... is it that we need to connect something there?
Yes, both chips had to connected to the 20K ohms preset resistor mid pin.

3) two pins just below the comparator (i have highlighted them).... what must be connected there?
This two pins for supply +5V and Gnd to main board.

4)the preset (i have highlighted it) ... doesnt have all the 3 of it pins connected.
Connected to all the inverted input of the LM324
5) how to supply power to the sensor array?
two pins just below the comparator (you have highlighted them).




Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2011, 09:28:29 AM »
sir....
in the below figure there are two set of wires....
1)from sensors,which are 8 in number
2)i think second set has 4 wires ..... where are they from?.... if we give Vcc n GND then there should be only 2 wires,right?

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2011, 10:54:42 AM »
The connector look like having only two wires. (brown and black)

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2011, 12:43:51 PM »
oh yes sir..... its quite confusing though!... thanks

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2011, 10:49:32 PM »
sir in power supply to sensors....
pin 4 is Vcc and pin 11 is GND,right?(4 n 11 are pins of LM324)

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2011, 11:53:44 PM »
Yes, correct.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #17 on: February 04, 2012, 11:17:36 AM »
sir,
what must be the height between the sensors and the ground(track).?

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2012, 12:04:13 PM »
May be 3 to 5 mm.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2012, 02:36:38 AM »
sir ,
in the figure...
1) u have connected a 33 ohm resistor.Isn't is too less?

2) whats the use of 100ohms preset mentioned in the diagram?

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2012, 05:07:12 PM »
1) u have connected a 33 ohm resistor.Isn't is too less?

2) whats the use of 100ohms preset mentioned in the diagram?

1) 33 ohm resistor was part of the voltage divider to control the Backlit of LCD, you may adjust the values.

2) preset use to control the Backlit of LCD

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2012, 04:39:29 AM »
sir....
 
1) 10k ohm preset is for the back light adjustment of LCD,isn't it?

2) whats the purpose of 100 ohm preset?

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2012, 07:00:49 AM »
sir....
 
1) 10k ohm preset is for the back light adjustment of LCD,isn't it?

2) whats the purpose of 100 ohm preset?

10k ohm preset is for lcd contrast adjustment and 100 ohm preset for the back light adjustment.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2012, 09:35:56 AM »
sir,
i have built the board,
1) i'm getting 5v as the output of the 7805....but when i checked the voltage across the terminals(3 boxes highlighted) there is no        voltage (0v)...

2) when i checked the continuity between pin 2 n 3 of the preset(in accordance with the diagram)... its shorted.Since pin 3 is GND and 2 is Vcc... i feel Vcc n GND itself r shorted .... n hence i'm not getting any voltage at those 3 boxes...?

how to sort this problem?
 

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2012, 04:43:31 PM »

You need to jumps a few wires to complete the circuits, 5V line is one of them.
Refer to the schematic.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2012, 07:52:06 AM »
sir ,
i made all those connections .... n the circuit worked.... thank u sir.

1) but after some 5 minutes, the 100uf capacitor (indicated in the figure) exploded n was burnt.I was using a 12 volts,1.5mAh lead  acid battery for the power supply....so what to do (shall i use any other kind of battery)?

2) since i had built the sensor array also ....i connected it to the main board.All the IR emitters were working fine.

3) i also connected the LCD display to the LCD power pins,but i didnt get any LCD back light.IS it that after programming, the LCD starts working? i haven't started programming the board yet.

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #26 on: February 20, 2012, 06:35:58 AM »
1) but after some 5 minutes, the 100uf capacitor (indicated in the figure) exploded n was burnt.I was using a 12 volts,1.5mAh lead  acid battery for the power supply....so what to do (shall i use any other kind of battery)?
Not seen 1.5mAh lead  acid battery. What voltage on the 100uf capacitor you use? it should be 16V or 25V

2) since i had built the sensor array also ....i connected it to the main board.All the IR emitters were working fine.
You can measure the out put of the LM324 using multi-meter to confirm the working of the sensor array.

3) i also connected the LCD display to the LCD power pins,but i didnt get any LCD back light.IS it that after programming, the LCD starts working? i haven't started programming the board yet.

Yes, LCD back light is control by the micro-controller pin, you need to program the micro-controller for it to work.

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #27 on: February 20, 2012, 06:42:56 AM »
i'll check out the capacitor ratings....
thank u sir.

Offline trisuliswanto

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2012, 06:50:15 AM »
please help me...
I just Successed build this robot by tutorial given by Pratheek and with a little modification, I add the push button on board and add a reset button, but now i dont know how can I get the right tuning configuration for my robot.
please give me an explanation how to perfectly configure the robot!
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 09:27:07 AM by trisuliswanto »

Offline nik@sdmTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Helpful? 0
Re: this in reference to the line follower made by pratheek
« Reply #29 on: February 20, 2012, 08:20:42 AM »
to billhowl sir,

now i'm totally done with all the electronics as well as the mechanical stuff....

i need to start with the coding.... as of now, i don't really have a fair idea so as what to do n where to start from....
please tell me .. how should i start programming?

 


Get Your Ad Here