Author Topic: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII  (Read 1273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline irveltasTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« on: February 07, 2012, 01:54:09 PM »
trying to modify servos but cant put in hex file. all i get is
Getting isp parameter.. SD=0x02 .. OKOK
Reading FLASH input file.. OK
Setting mode and device parameters.. OK!
Entering programming mode.. FAILED!
Leaving programming mode.. OK!
found some information on forum but with no technological background i cant understand how to fix it. if anybody has spare momment plz help.

Offline newInRobotics

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 01:55:31 PM »
What information did You find?
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline joe61

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 417
  • Helpful? 16
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 02:04:31 PM »
trying to modify servos but cant put in hex file. all i get is
[...]

What programmer are you using?
What programming software are you using?
What chip are you trying to program?
What board is your chip in, and what are the connections to the ISP headers (post schematic if possible)
Please copy and paste the exact error messages you're getting. We don't have much to go on at this point.

Joe

Offline irveltasTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2012, 01:59:45 PM »

AVR ISP2
AVR STUDIO4
ATmega8 AVR
board as in $50 robot tutorial, exept first i biuld it for 10 pin programer so i had to change it as in schematic(atached), error message(atached). ty for help.

Offline joe61

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 417
  • Helpful? 16
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2012, 02:06:49 PM »
What did the troubleshooting section in the help window say? I'm guessing that the lines aren't connected to the programmer socket correctly. Either a solder problem, or wires going to the wrong pins.

Failure to enter programming mode generally means either the SPI connection isn't working, or it can't drive the reset pin. Check the connections again, it's easy to get turned around when you look at the diagram from the top and then solder from the bottom.


Offline irveltasTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2012, 03:13:12 PM »
joe61 u was right, problem was in reset line(poor soldering). but now im getting
Setting mode and device parameters.. OK!
Entering programming mode.. OK!
Erasing device.. OK!
Programming FLASH ..      FAILED!
Leaving programming mode.. OK!
 :(
and if i press verify i get
Setting mode and device parameters.. OK!
Entering programming mode.. OK!
Reading FLASH ..      OK!
WARNING: FLASH byte address 0x0000 is 0x00 (should be 0x12).. FAILED!
Leaving programming mode.. OK!
were i should change it?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 03:17:39 PM by irveltas »

Offline irveltasTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: trouble with programming AVRISP mkII
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2012, 07:27:43 AM »
isp frequency was wrong.
ty for help

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list