2

Author Topic: Current Sensors  (Read 2598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline silo_xtremeTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Current Sensors
« on: July 12, 2007, 07:37:27 AM »
Hello great bot lords :-)  I was wondering  - do you know of a current sense IC that can detect currents 30 A; or can only those "hall effect" current sensors get there?  I would perfer to find an IC because the hall effect sensors have that big copper core in the middile - this means more $$.

Any ideas?


Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2007, 08:53:59 AM »
Digikey only has them going up to 7A . . .

You can always run a few in parallel, and in post processing multiply the output by the number you have in parallel.

Offline silo_xtremeTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2007, 09:11:57 AM »
Ok, that would work.... but it end up costing more $$ in the end.  Looks like i'm going with the hall effect.  Thank you! 

Btw, I love your site - thank you for this wonderful resource.

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2007, 11:37:27 AM »
Hi there is an NT-XX series of current sensors. They are available in 5,15,25, and 50 amp IC's.
http://www.newark.com/jsp/level5/module.jsp?moduleId=en_US/3586.xml
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2007, 12:31:24 PM »
sdk32285, their cheapest one is $25, almost 3x the hall effect option . . . ;D

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2007, 01:09:37 PM »
Heres an even cheaper option.
http://www.allegromicro.com/en/Products/Part_Numbers/0712/index.asp
request a sample. :o
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

Offline silo_xtremeTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Re: Current Sensors
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2007, 01:29:25 PM »
Any idea what the max current that can handle?  I can't seem to find that data, andn wouldn't want to burn it out. 

Offline sdk32285

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Helpful? 0
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

 


Get Your Ad Here