Author Topic: remote controlled robots  (Read 1309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anigeoTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
remote controlled robots
« on: March 03, 2012, 07:25:36 AM »
what does it take to convert a line following robot into a remote controlled robot?
I have actually started building one and now realize that i need a remote controlled one for the competition.

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: remote controlled robots
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 12:11:03 PM »
Does the line follower have an MCU? (some do not)
I

Offline anigeoTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: remote controlled robots
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 08:51:02 PM »
Does the line follower have an MCU? (some do not)
i just read in SOR forums that a remote controlled robot doesn't need a microcontroller.What about this?

Offline Resilient

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Helpful? 4
Re: remote controlled robots
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2012, 09:27:31 PM »
Does the line follower have an MCU? (some do not)

i just read in SOR forums that a remote controlled robot doesn't need a microcontroller.What about this?


This is true. All you need is a transmitter and receiver (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__9041__Hobby_King_2_4Ghz_6Ch_Tx_Rx_V2_Mode_1_.html) and you are pretty much good to go. You can plug servos directly into the receiver. If you want more powerful motors you can get speed controllers to attach to motors. Either brush-less or brushed. If you want to use differential steering, it gets a little more complicated, but with a nicer computer radio it would be easy enough to set that up. Essentially no programming or soldering required except maybe to connect your motors to you speed controller if you dont buy them with compatible plugs.

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer Roboticist
Re: remote controlled robots
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2012, 02:33:43 AM »
Does the line follower have an MCU? (some do not)
i just read in SOR forums that a remote controlled robot doesn't need a microcontroller.What about this?

I asked because I assumed you wanted to use some of the hardware already on your bot, but we have zero idea what this hardware is.
I

Offline gerard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Helpful? 2
Re: remote controlled robots
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2012, 09:34:14 AM »
I have recently made an rc vehicle

all i used was an rc controller/receiver
and a speed control
i put the servos directly to the speed control
i'm using the sabertooth 2x25 two channel motor controller
it works great

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list