Author Topic: Axon windows 64bit loader  (Read 1065 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SuperMiguelTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Helpful? 0
Axon windows 64bit loader
« on: October 11, 2012, 03:05:06 PM »
Axon windows 64bit loader????

How do i load software on my axon 2 using windows 7 64bit??

Offline newInRobotics

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 03:07:48 PM »
By using something like AVRstudio? :)
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline SuperMiguelTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 04:21:15 PM »
Well AVR studio 4 doesnt find the board as a programmer, and webbot creates a avr studio 4 file...

Also on the documentation they recommend using a hex loader, but it doesnt work on 64it

i tried converting the avr 4 project to 6 and it didnt work, i just get conversion errors
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 04:23:34 PM by SuperMiguel »

Offline newInRobotics

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2012, 02:59:26 AM »
I work on 64x Windows 7 at home and use AVRstudio6, don't have any problems at all. In theory AVRstudio should be backwards compatible and work with older project files. In case it does not, You can simply create new project and just copy source code to it.

Regrading programmer, can You confirm that it works on other systems? Or has it been used now for the first time?
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline SuperMiguelTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2012, 05:48:20 PM »
the axon 2 worked before and it works on windows 32 bit... Can you post ho you program it using avr studio?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2012, 09:17:43 PM »
I typed in 'axon 64 bit program' into google and this was the first result:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=13632.0

 :P

Basically, here:
http://www.yetasoft.com/products/mcuber/

The later versions of AVR Studio also work in 64 bit, but you'll need a hardware programmer to do that.

Offline napnyl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2012, 10:50:14 PM »
I had a lot of problems with Mcuber to make it work so I recommend Windows XP Virtual Machine. I think that almost all the computers nowadays have the virtualization so don't worry and try that and the bootloader provided by SoR in the main page. And as the Admin said you will need a hardware programmer and also you may confuse the microcontroller fuses so I recommend to use just the bootloader and also Its faster to conect and pretty simple. If you have a question let us know :) Good Luck

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Axon windows 64bit loader
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2012, 01:52:56 PM »
Just a clarification. WebbotLib is a software app and builds a hex file - how you program this to the chip is outside of Webbotlib currently. WebbotLib also creates an AVRStudio 4 project so that you can load it up in AVRStudio 4. Subsequent AVR Studio versions may not be happy with it and I may well drop generating it anyway in later versions of Project Designer - in favor of WebbotLibStudio.

All of this is kinda outside of IDEs etc - its always good to be able to blow a hex (industry standard file) that has been generate via anything WebbotLib/AVR/Arduino etc etc to a chip irrespective of the operating system you have running on your computer. Most IDEs tend to just wrap this functionality anyway (why would they re-invent it?). These wrappers are often based on AVRDude (google).
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

 


Get Your Ad Here