Author Topic: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?  (Read 729 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bennyberTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« on: November 11, 2012, 12:38:05 PM »
Hello

Can anyone, please, tell me how to use 5V servos
with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?

Thanks, in advance.

Offline newInRobotics

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2012, 02:53:17 AM »
You use separate power supply :)
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline stridera

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Helpful? 0
  • Software Engineer, Author, Hacker.
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2012, 03:26:00 AM »
Or use a voltage divider to reduce it to the required voltage.

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electric/voldiv.html

Offline bennyberTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2012, 05:11:49 AM »
One really nice guy 'palmisano' already answered this question (on you-tube):

"The Axon Mote has regulated (3.3V) and unregulated (battery voltage) power buses. You hook up the servo to the unregulated power bus. Servos work with any PWM signal above 3V."

Thank you palmisano.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2012, 06:30:11 PM »
Hi,

One really nice guy 'palmisano' [...]
Known here as Admin :)
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Gertlex

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Helpful? 23
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2012, 07:43:08 PM »
He also made the board, so he's in this for the money. Nice? I don't know about that :D
I

Offline sebastian

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How to use 5V servos with axon mote that operates on 3.3V?
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2012, 01:30:13 PM »
The servo can be powered independently ,it only needs the signal from the micro controller, make sure the ground of the signal and the ground of the power supply are common

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list