2

Author Topic: step up transformer circuit  (Read 555 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Helpful? 0
step up transformer circuit
« on: July 07, 2013, 02:44:57 PM »
hey i am currently using the circuit within a disposable camera to step up 1.5 volts to 330 volts but i dont know how much current is being used or outputted
i measured the resistance of the circuit to be 4340 ohms
-i used ohms law to calculate the current drawn then calculated the wattage then divided my answer by 330 to get the current outputted is the process correct when calculating the input and out put current of the circuit?

Offline jkerns

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Helpful? 12
Re: step up transformer circuit
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 09:33:08 AM »
It's not that simple. A DC resistance measurement tells you almost nothing about how the circuit will behave under operation

http://www.talkingelectronics.com/projects/XenonFlasher/XenonFlasher.html
I get paid to play with robots - can't beat that with a stick.

http://www.ltu.edu/engineering/mechanical/bachelor-science-robotics-engineering.asp

Offline johnwarfin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Helpful? 3
Re: step up transformer circuit
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 03:38:45 PM »
current is in the microamp range. barely enough to slowly charge a cap. and 330v is not a practical voltage for robots anyway. for cheap and reasonably useful step up converter check, thats right, eeeee.... bayyyyyy.

Offline VegaObscura

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
  • Helpful? 6
Re: step up transformer circuit
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 04:04:05 PM »
and 330v is not a practical voltage for robots anyway.

He didn't say it was going to be part of a robot.  He could be using it to make a flash welder (halfway down the page).

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Helpful? 0
Re: step up transformer circuit
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2013, 07:11:27 PM »
i wasnt going to use it for robotics just curious about the current it delivers,thinking about its potential uses

Offline johnwarfin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Helpful? 3
Re: step up transformer circuit
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2013, 06:39:27 PM »
and 330v is not a practical voltage for robots anyway.

He didn't say it was going to be part of a robot.  He could be using it to make a flash welder (halfway down the page).

whoa. that is something else. i gotta try that. i know soldering batteries can be fatal to the cell.

 


Get Your Ad Here