Author Topic: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?  (Read 806 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Helpful? 0
how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« on: November 16, 2013, 12:14:20 PM »
how do you attach a propeller to a brushless motor?

how can i connect this motor:
http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/brushless-motor-1300kv-19a.html

to this propeller:
http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/8x4-multirotor-propeller-standard.html

also do longer propellers mean better lifting power and smaller propellers mean more speed ?
also what is the purpose of using outrunner motors rather than in runner motors, don't they do the same thing?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 12:16:07 PM by vipulan12 »

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,941
  • Helpful? 98
Re: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 12:46:34 PM »
you need a hub to go between to motor and propeller.
Instead of a Robot store try looking at motors and props at an RC air-plane store.
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/brushless_motors_269_ctg.htm
These people do describe the characteristics of out-runner, in-runner and prop sizes. They are only one of many places that sell the parts you need and were just the first on the google search find..

Also, do more web searches and reading since there really is a lot of info out there on using BLDC motors and props include calculators to determine which prop to use.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 01:26:16 PM by waltr »

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Helpful? 0
Re: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 02:21:57 PM »
are there brushless motors where a hub comes with them? or are they always sold separately?
also i been looking at some motors and what does it mean to have a higher Max amperage?
will a  higher  max amperage mean a longer propeller and higher pitch ?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 03:03:17 PM by vipulan12 »

Offline jwatte

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,343
  • Helpful? 81
Re: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2013, 04:06:25 PM »
A longer propeller with higher pitch generates more lift at a given RPM, and thus also generates more drag. Because it generates more drag, you need more power. More power in motors comes from higher wattage and higher efficiency. For a given efficiency (not all motors are equal) a higher amperage and/or a higher voltage will generate higher wattage, and thus higher power.

So, it's not that higher length/pitch "generates" higher power, it's that they "demand" higher power.

I think Hobby Lobby is bad for many reasons. I'd rather buy from A1 Main Hobbies, or HobbyPartz, or (worst case) Hobby King. Those stores all have various motor/propeller combinations, forums, videos, and tutorials.

Offline vipulan12Topic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
  • Helpful? 0
Re: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2013, 04:41:01 PM »
so why do propellers need to be balanced and how exactly is it done?
also how does vibration occur? does this happen because the propeller is wobbling or is it something else?
so lets say i want to build a quad copter that lifts a heavy load?

would it be better to have longer propellers or a higher pitch to do the heavy lifting assuming that the rpm is the same?

longer propellers are energy efficient but take up more space while a higher pitch will result in less space but will consume more power(is my assumption right?)

also are expensive IMU's required for orientation?
how to the quad copter that fit in your hand orient themselves(they're so small!!!)

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,941
  • Helpful? 98
Re: how to attach propeller to brushless motors?
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2013, 09:54:42 PM »
Have you heard of GOOGLE web searching?
Try it and you will find answers to these questions.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list