go_away

Author Topic: WebbotLib Studio update errors  (Read 689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cristi_NeaguTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
  • Helpful? 5
WebbotLib Studio update errors
« on: December 13, 2013, 04:46:05 AM »
Hi.

Every time i start WebbotLib Studio via the Downloader and try to generate a project with it, the Download Wizard comes up. It shows me everything is up to date, but when i get to the download section, it gives me an error trying to download  "WebbotLib for AVR8" and "Windows Compiler for AVR8". If i click next it tells me there's nothing to compile (obviously, since it couldn't download anything), then the Download Wizard starts up again.

This doesn't happen if i download WebbotLib Studio separately from SourceForge, or if i start it from WebbotLibStudio.jnlp from its install folder.

I imagine it might be a permission thing, but i have no idea where it's trying to download or install those things.

Thanks.

Edit: Cancelling doesn't work either. I usually have to kill it via Task Manager.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2013, 01:31:52 PM »
Hi,

It would be good to know if you are running on Windows or Unix and what versions.

Also what

Every time i start WebbotLib Studio via the Downloader

in the Downloader - what are your settings for WebbotLib Studio? ie select the line for WebbotLib Studio, click properties, the Remote URL should be: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotStudio/WebbotLibStudio.jnlp. Is that the case?

This doesn't happen if i download WebbotLib Studio separately from SourceForge

Eh? SourceForge only hosts the original WebbotLib (ie the open source library). All the tools like Project Designer and Studio only exist on my site and not SourceForge. Studio has its own version of WebbotLib as well ("WebbotLib for AVR8"). So Studio doesn't need to go to SourceForge at all.

it gives me an error trying to download  "WebbotLib for AVR8" and "Windows Compiler for AVR8"

.... which looks like ...?
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Cristi_NeaguTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
  • Helpful? 5
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2013, 02:00:12 PM »
    Hi.

Quote
It would be good to know if you are running on Windows or Unix and what versions.


Windows 7 Ultimate.

Quote
what are your settings for WebbotLib Studio? ie select the line for WebbotLib Studio, click properties, the Remote URL should be: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotStudio/WebbotLibStudio.jnlp. Is that the case?


Yup, that's the URL.

Quote
Eh? SourceForge only hosts the original WebbotLib (ie the open source library). All the tools like Project Designer and Studio only exist on my site and not SourceForge. Studio has its own version of WebbotLib as well ("WebbotLib for AVR8"). So Studio doesn't need to go to SourceForge at all.


OK, that's my bad. For some reason i had the impression your site linked to SourceForge, but i was wrong. I meant the version that's downloadable from your site, under "Where do I download WebbotLib Studio?"

Quote
.... which looks like ...?


... this:



Exact steps:

-start WebbotLib Studio
-make a new project (Axon2 in this case)
-generate the project (both streams to uart1, enable compilier optimization, generate project file)
-Download Wizard appears
-select download location (only option available)
-everything is up to date on the next 2 screens
-click on download for those 2 libraries
-get that error message, then another window of Download Wizard pops up.[/li][/list]


Thanks.

Edit: Forgot to say this in my previous posts, but at one time a part of the library was out of date too (a component). When i got to the download part, that out of date component downloaded properly, but i still got errors for those two libraries.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2013, 05:15:07 PM by Cristi_Neagu »

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2013, 10:07:30 PM »
Try again now- downloader will grab new WebbotLib Studio
If it fails again then in WebbotLib Studio before you start a new Project then open menu option Help | About and copy+paste the contents of the scrollable window into your response.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Cristi_NeaguTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
  • Helpful? 5
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2013, 07:16:02 AM »
Started Downloader again, went through the whole process, but now it was able to download and compile everything, so it all works now.

Thanks :D

Edit: Now that i look at the folder structure, i have WebbotLib Studio installed in a directory named "Webbot Studio", but now it made a new folder called Webbot%20Studio" and installed WebbotLib and WinAVR in there... So i'm thinking maybe the whole problem was because i have a space in my install folder's name. Anyways, it all works good, so no worries about that.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2013, 07:20:00 AM by Cristi_Neagu »

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2013, 12:09:41 PM »
@mabell
How are you downloading/running Studio:- there are masses of different ways. Also worth knowing what platform you are on: eg Win (Version?), or *nix (version?).
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Cristi_NeaguTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
  • Helpful? 5
Re: WebbotLib Studio update errors
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2013, 12:13:26 PM »
I don't know what mabell's post is about, but it looks to be a copy paste from mine.

 


Get Your Ad Here