go_away

Author Topic: forum upgrade in progress  (Read 1343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
forum upgrade in progress
« on: January 26, 2014, 09:17:55 PM »
If weird things start happening to the forum, come back in 20 minutes.

Offline gerard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Helpful? 2
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 11:18:12 PM »
describe 'weird things'

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 11:40:59 PM »
Lost functionality, or broken links . . .

The upgrade had some issues, currently trying to fix everything . . .

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2014, 04:36:22 AM »
I seem to have broken something but not quite sure what . . . .

I'm getting a pop-up error, "overLib 4.14 or later is required for the Adaptive_Width Plugin" on my XP machine running Chrome.

Anyone else seeing this? Searching the problem on Google hasn't been helpful . . .

Offline jlizotte

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Helpful? 3
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2014, 06:13:48 AM »
I'm getting the same error in Firefox (26.0), (Win 8.1 64 bit), as of Monday morning at 7:00am.

John

Offline Roman505

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Helpful? 3
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2014, 03:13:09 PM »
Same error on Safari 7.0.1 at 2105 hrs UTC (OS X 10.9.1, Java 7 Update 51)

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2014, 08:43:30 PM »
ok, I figured out what the cause was.

I've unfortunately had to disable the mouse-over pop-up feature of the forum as it was incompatible with the latest upgrade.

Offline hexadec

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2015, 09:21:26 AM »
I know this is old but I've just joined and this is happening to me.

Every change of forum 'room' I get that message popup.

Using Windoze 10 and Firefox 42.0

Just to let you know.  :)

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2015, 09:26:27 AM »
I'm still not sure what causes it.

Whenever I upgrade my firefox version, and/or I think the forum version (if I remember right), I'd again get that message.

But once I click 'ok' the first time it just goes away and I won't see it again for 6+ months. Makes it really hard to debug...

It happens in both Chrome and Firefox, too....

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,680
  • Helpful? 172
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2015, 09:27:14 AM »
Funny thing, as soon as I made that post, I got the error...

So testing again with another post.


edit: Looks like the error happens for me now only when I post something... I'll do my best to look into this...

Offline hexadec

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: forum upgrade in progress
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2015, 11:06:07 AM »
I wouldn't waste much time on it... ;)

'tis weird though, must be me bringing bad luck  :)

 


Get Your Ad Here